We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage escape.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pencoed, Vale of Glamorgan, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CClose20
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage escape.”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Another wonderful stay in this lovely cottage. The attention to detail is second to none, and from the amazing welcome platter of lovely food to the setting it is just wonderful. The cottage is beautifully finished, to a really high standard.
The little church of Lanilid is very pretty, and the cottage is a fantastic place to relax and explore Wales, we just didn't want to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
It was great to see you both again and so pleased that you enjoyed your second visit to us and many thanks for you amazing review, it is so pleasing when returners still find great things to say about our accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you both back at anytime
Many thank
Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Self catering at its best”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

An excellent cottage providing 5-star accommodation. It was clean, comfortable and warm. The welcome hamper exceeded expectations and provided enough fare for two meals and two English (sorry Welsh) breakfasts. The 'extras' included dressing gowns, slippers, proper napkins and chocolates on the pillows. We have stayed in some good self-catering cottages across the country and this was one of the best.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Thank you both for a fantastic review and it make all the hard work so worth while. It was a shame that the weather was not kinder for you and it was a pleasure to go in the cottage after you left as you left it in such a great condition, so thank you very much.
If ever you are down in this part of wales again please come back and see us again.

Many thanks
Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Cwtch was a lovely stay. The welcome package included a selection of meats and cheese, along with wine, bread and items for an English breakfast. The super king bed was very comfortable and the accommodation overall was extremely clean and modern.
We visited The Mumbles, Ogmore, Llantwit Major, Southerndown, Three Cliffs Bay and The Worms Head. All with a mixture of beautiful views, coastlines and beaches.
We had an amazing stay and are looking forward to visiting again soon. Thank you for such lovely hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Sue and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at "The Cwtch" and for your very kind comments, we strive to make everyone's visit as comfortable and as memorable as possible.
We would love to see you again if you are down visiting friends or exploring the part of South Wales and looking for somewhere to stay.
Best regards
Steve and sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueskyFr...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stylish yet cosy retreat”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Cwtch was everything we had hoped and more. Set in a lovely rural location yet with easy access to Cardiff and the Welsh coast it was the perfect base for our weekend. Sue & Steve have created a fantastic space in which to relax, with a huge comfortable bed, well-equipped kitchen & stylish living area.
The welcome-pack included everything to make a full Welsh breakfast, In fact enough for two days, pus a tasty meat & cheese platter and bottle of wine.
Often it is the little thoughtful touches that make a difference, and there was no shortage of these at the Cwtch. The toiletries in the shower-room were lovely, slippers & robes were a nice touch & the wood-burning stove ready to light made us wish it had been cold enough to need it!
We cannot recommend a stay here highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Thank you both, we are so glad that you found everything that you needed at The Cwtch and when you get comments like yours it makes all the hard work worth while, so thank you again.
We very much look forward to meeting you again when you are in south wales
Best regards
Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete S
San Francisco, California
1 review
“A private & modern retreat at a historic location”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Steve and Sue made me welcome from the start! The Cwtch is a very well appointed and designed place for two to enjoy the locale in South Wales. I was visiting family & I appreciated the privacy and comfort afforded to me with the accommodation. It is highly recommended and I will be looking to stay here once again when I visit my folks on my next visit to the UK & home.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you Pete for a great review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed you stay back home in South Wales and the comforts that The Cwtch has to offer. It was a pleasure to go in the cottage after you left and the immaculate way in which it was found, so thank you so much for that.
Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at any time.
Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing