We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Welcoming Place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Welshpool, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EmmaA3004
1 review
“Fantastic Welcoming Place”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The owners couldn't do enough for us and made us feel so welcome! Breakfast on both days was delicious and a huge amount plus it was lovely to have the continental breakfast delivered. The hut was warm, cosy and clean and exactly what we wanted and needed - thank you so much!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EaglesSUK
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peace of Heaven”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in the Shepherd's Hut for a couple of nights on a tour of the Shropshire Hills ... and it was one of the top highlights of the entire trip. The comms leading up to our stay was fantastic and it helped us to find the hut, which was delightfully removed from any hustle and bustle. The reception from Charlotte was warm and friendly; the setting was beautiful, ah, but the hut itself was perfection, everything we'd hoped it would be ... and then some. We were given a fantastic recommendation for where to go for an evening meal and returned for a wonderful night in the perfectly-constructed shepherds hut. The hut IS a work of art. It's a bit like the TARDIS, and with all of its crooks and nannies for storage, it's completely comfortable. It was just a shame the weather wasn't colder and we couldn't light the stove and snuggle up. Breakfast served at the B&B was probably one of the best we've ever had. For our second night, we'd bought cold cuts, cheese, bread and wine and ate it in the 'boat house' next to the hut as the evening soothed in around us. Bliss. We went for the continental breakfast the next morning because we had a long drive ahead - this was delivered to the boat-house in a wicker basket, and was superb. Honestly, everything about our stay here was fantastic; thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hut
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S
devon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 Star Shepherds Hut”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have stayed in a couple of shepherds huts before on other sites, but this one is a quality hut with en suite and with the plus of the boathouse come kitchen diner with log burner
If you like walking this is perfect for you, many walks from the hut no need to drive as there are footpaths a canal and Offa's dyke to walk
We did walk and chilled out on site very peaceful and the breakfast is amazing
We will be back many thanks for a great week

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay, and the lake farm big breakfast. Yes the walks are lovely, we often spend our time walking the hills. Thank you for leaving our hut so tidy. And please do come stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bindy V
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Aniversary present”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just got back from the hut it was a present from our daughters for our 10th wedding aniversary didnt want to come home it was so lovely ideal for couples that just want a chilled ot weekend was made to feel so welcome by Charlotte and Martin and the breakfast,s were so lovely we had a continental breakfast on the first morning and a full english the day of our return both were fantastic the bed so comfy too and the hut it self was lovely and warm you dont just get the hut you get the outside space all to your self theres loads of places to eat and welshpool is just a 10 min drive away we had no complaints it was great had a out side fire and a night cap every night if you want to get away from everthing this is the place cant fault it cant waite to go back thank you to Charlotte and Martin for a lovely time and Charlotte,s mom for the lovely cooked breakfast and your kind welcome.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thank you for coming to stay, you were fantastic guests, and we really hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacass1...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quirky, cosy & idyllic”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My partner has been desperate to stay in a shepherd's hut and booked this as a pre back to work treat. We only stayed for one night but we really wished we'd booked another night!

Everything was done to perfection: the hut was beautifully decorated, everything had been catered for and it was a little home from home.

The boathouse is a great idea and we enjoyed sitting outside this with the firepit roaring listening to the silence of the Welsh hills. We look forward to seeing this once the outside kitchen has been added.

We chose the continental breakfast the following morning which was brought to us in the boathouse in a hamper - again, this was done to perfection and set us up for the day!

The owners should be so proud of the retreat they have created. No technology meant an evening of conversation and staring at the stars. What more could you ask for?!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The lack of technology and the beautiful decor
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
It was a pleasure having you both stay and also Rupert the dog, hope to see you all again for another stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing