We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Briliant!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Welshpool, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
diverjohn...
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Briliant!”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Last minute booking, very very nice people, great shepherd's hut the design and quality of hut was A1, you're really made to feel welcome, very good breakfast, plentiful too.
We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the people there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belinda74...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful weekend escape”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Shepherds Hut for 2 nights in February 2016. We wanted a quick break to get away from city life. Charlotte made the booking process very easy and sent detailed instructions on how to find the farm.

We arrived around 6pm on the Friday evening and Charlotte quickly showed us the workings of the hut. The weekend was a surprise for my partner who is not really a keen Glamper but he was very impressed with the hut. The hut is beautifully made by Charlotte's husband and the attention to detail and workmanship is second to none, it as a wonderful compact on suite bathroom and comfortable double bed. There is everything you need from toiletries in the bathroom, bottled water & tea and coffee. Charlotte changed the towels and replenished the fire wood each day and made sure we had everything we needed. The wood burning fire was fantastic, it was quite cold outside but we were super warm. The cooked breakfast in the main B&B was also top notch; we had lunch out on the Saturday at a local pub and decided despite the weather to have a BBQ on the fire pit on Saturday night which was a great success! There are restaurants in Welshpool and some of the local villages if you want to eat out.
The setting of the hut is wonderful with a lovely wildlife pond and views of the Welsh Hills. We also booked to do the Clay Pigeon Shooting on Saturday morning with Martin Charlotte’s husband. It was lots of fun and Martin is a natural teacher with lots of patience and encouragement.

We would definitely return most likely in the summer months when we can take advantage of the outdoors more. Wonderful Glamping experience suitable for any season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hut and hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay, looking forward to seeing you again in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmer7
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy, quiet and hassle free weekend away.”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2015

We had an lovely weekend in the Lake Farm Shepherds Hut. The hut is very well appointed and finished to a very high standard. Charlotte was a great host and the continental breakfast provided is excellent. If you just want to escape from it all and have a quiet, hassle free break I would seriously recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our hut. Glad you had a nice time, and hope you come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emily055
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gem! ”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a little gem... We booked for just 1 night and really wish we had booked for 2.

The hut is beautiful inside and out and so cosy with the log burner going. We headed out for dinner but could have easily stayed in if we have been prepared and brought nibbles.

Charlotte was brilliant, and the breakfast was just fabulous!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Great that you enjoyed yourself and yes do come back for two or more nights next time, you were lovely guests and are very welcome here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen M
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I booked Lake Farm Shepherds Hut for a last-minute New Year break. My husband and I wanted an escape from the world, someone full of peace and quiet where we could spend some time together so it sounded like the perfect place.
Unfortunately he got ill over Christmas, so it looked like we might not be able to go - Charlotte was absolutely brilliant and let us move the trip back by a day. Her patience and accommodation was refreshing, and made it a great booking experience.
When we arrived, it was exactly what we had hoped for. The hut is beautifully finished, with every little detail thought of. Martin and Charlotte are brilliant with just the right balance of being on hand to show you how things work, but leaving you to your own devices so you can get the seclusion you're looking for.
We wiled away hours tucked up in our cosy hut, with the hobbit stove roaring, playing cards or chess, and listening to the radio, hidden away from any rain and wind. It's a great mix of going back to basics but still having the creature comforts you're used to - toilet, shower, kettle, plugs etc.
Charlotte's continental breakfast is probably one of the best continental breakfasts I've ever had. Fresh bread, croissants, coffee, juice, cereal, fruit, cold meats and cheese. The list goes on, all beautifully-presented in a hamper.
The hut is close to plenty of walks. We packed up some of our breakfast to take on a nice long walk along Offa's Dyke path for a few hours. It's also easy driving distance to Welshpool for supplies or meals out. After a Christmas of over-eating we didn't make it to any of the nearby places Charlotte suggested for dinner, but we will do on our return.
The views are amazing, the people are lovely, the hut an absolute delight, I could go on and on and on. I write a food blog, but this stay was so good it's inspired me to expand it and write about places I stay - THAT's how good it is.
If you want a break from everything, a bit of peace and quiet and simplicity, then go and stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review, glad you enjoyed yourselves. It was a pleasure having you stay and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing