We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
37
56
14
3
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
56
14
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travelzoo deal evening meal would stay again italian wines comfortable sleep old coaching inn menu choices customer focused locally sourced meat leaving early quirky hotel allow dogs pizza restaurant good size no lift single room creaking floorboards
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018

I have arranged an annual trip to Wales with the Wynnstay Hotel as our base for 25 years or so. We return every September to enjoy the friendly staff and the wonderful food and wines. In all the years we have never been let down by the quality of the dishes on offer and more recently by the wines that they serve. We will be returning for our 2018 visit in a few weeks and are still just as excited by the prospect

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Cute hotel, cute town. The downside was the breakfast, just not very appealing to look at or eat. They call plates of dry cereal and canned grapefruit and prunes a buffet. They were dog friendly and that was quite nice.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ryguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

We didn't realise when we arrived that there was a music festival in town all week, so the hotel was a wee bit busier than usual earlier in the evening. It also explained why we were paying close to the rack rate. It's an old, and old fashioned, building, right on the main street, with lots of uneven stairs, low beams and creaky floors, but the public rooms, and our room were clean, the beds comfy, and the telly tiny! There was only one double plug socket in the entire room, which these days is woefully inadequate for PCs, phone chargers etc. Bathroom was fine, if old fashioned, with a shower above the (large) bath. We didn't try the evening meal, or the bar/pizza restaurant at the back, but we really enjoyed the cooked breakfast next morning. The staff were, without exception, excellent! We'd be very happy to stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GasMenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

I stayed here for 2 nights , Its an old coach house type of building with uneven floors but it is what it is , I had room 12 which was quiet and very nice comfortable bed and I slept well . Easy to use shower . Food here is not bad and its was busy . Its in town so you can step outside and find other restaurants and cafes . It does also have its own Pizza place at the rear , this I did try and was ok , all staff were friendly and we arrived after it closed but we made arrangements to gain entry and our room keys were left at reception for us to collect

Room tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank williamjc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for this review. We do try to be better than OK!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel does not look terribly appealing from the outside and is a tad old fashioned inside. However, the food was excellent. Liver cooked well, nicely presented on a bed of bubble and squeak, both meat and vegetarian ragu pasta options were delicious as was the haddock risotto. Finally the steak and blue cheese toasted ciabatta was excellent. All at very reasonable prices. We will return when next in Macynthelleth.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for this review.
Well, The Wynnstay is 240 years old, it shows its age at times. We are concentrating on getting the inside right first, rather than promising something outside which we cannot deliver inside.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews