We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,776)
Filter reviews
1,777 results
Traveller rating
921
537
184
88
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
921
537
184
88
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake vyrnwy afternoon tea course meal stunning views garden view premier room four poster bed clay pigeon shooting fantastic location truffle scones room was large main course main restaurant hotel bar drawing room separate shower
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,777 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has an unbeatable location. The afternoon tea selection included various sandwiches and cakes, which were fresh as surprisingly good value for such a quality setting. Staff were professional and friendly. The interior is charmingly traditional; very Agatha Christie! Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank DavidLloyd1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a week in september here in January being explicit in which room I wanted for our 25th weeding anniversary, (we stayed there on our honemoon and again on our 20th). When we arrived we were shown to a room at the far end of the Hotel (not the room we had asked for which had wonderful aspects and was more substantial). I went straight to reception to find out why we had been put here and get things put right. I was met with an apologetic blank, the room had been booked since September last year but we had been put in a room of the same standard. I asked to speak to the manager, who was not on site, but was offered the opportunity of speaking to the deputy manager when she came free. We eventually came back down to the bar and had to prompt for the deputy manager to see us. Her approach was the room was booked last year your notes only say lake view and the room you want is simply not available. I explained the detail and care I had gone into to be clear about my requirements when booking but was met with there is nothing on the notes and nothing I can do.

After a really dissapointing start we went to dinner, awfull. Whilst it looked pretty on the plate the food was tasteless., under or over cooked, cold and miniscule in it's portions. The menu was limited at 5 mains and was set for the entire month so a week long stay gave no room for escape. I wanted to leave but options were limited so we agreed to allow a second chance. Our second day was pleaseant but again the evening meal was terrible (watched my wife try to disect a duck breast with her knife and fork having to remove sinew and bending the fork trying to get purchase). This was enough for us to down grade to bed and breakfast. In the morning we came down to breakfast which was quite acceptable, on leaving the dining room we went back to the room. On route we were asked by a fellow guest if our food had been OK the night before and were told of the same dissapointment from a couple on a similarly important occassion. This was enough for us and we checked out 5 days early.

We remember this hotel from its hayday of quality and excellence, it is absolutely not the same place. Tired, expensive and terrible food, along with no compassion for messing up what should have been a very special experience (when we saw teh deputy manager as we checked out we just felt like we were another moaning customer getting in the way - with the exception of the lovely girls on reception who were obviously gutted for us -)

We won't be back and Lake Vyrnwy unless you make some serious changes many others won't either

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank perri2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel for an autumn get away with our four legged friend. It seemed perfect for our requirements - dog friendly, beautiful scenery , surrounded by ample dog walking countryside. All prerequisites for us when we holiday in the UK.

We made our reservation by telephone and confirmed its status as a dog friendly hotel. We willingly paid the additional charge to have our dog with us in our room rather than the free heated kennels . At no point were we advised that we would be unable to take our dog into any communal indoor space with a view of the Lake.

When we raised the issue with the Manager we were advised that they were indeed very dog friendly & if we wished to enjoy the vista and be accompanied by our dog we could utilise the Verandah - beautiful on a sunny day but it was raining! Incredulously access the Verandah was via the ‘no dogs allowed’ zones!

We fully appreciate excluding dogs from the Restaurant but consigning dog owners with their pets to half of the ‘Brasserie’ does not make this hotel dog friendly. The ‘dog friendly’ area is best described as comfortless Cafe overlooking a car park serving substandard food. If you choose to be accompanied by your canine friend be prepared to be treated as second class citizens.

This hotel undoubtedly has a spectacular location but it is tired, dated, shabby and ridiculously overpriced. Having been bitterly disappointed by the quality and selection of food at the Brasserie we
had high expectations of breakfast. Disappointingly it was mediocre. And as for the condition of the restaurant carpet.......

This hotel is definitely neither dog friendly nor a luxury hotel. If that’s what your looking for look elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Iona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place with great calming views, you feel really remote and secluded. We had a couples retreat massage and mud session with time in the spa and then enjoyed the hotel and brasserie diner. Lots of little birds fluttering about outside the windows.

Thank also for my lovely birthday card and chocolate on arrival, that was really sweet touch! Would certainly come again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruby_and_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from a weekend at this hotel with a group. Big grand looking Hotel but old and badly needs an update. Breakfast on first day was cold bacon and cold sausages served on cold plates and we this was when they had just brought it out. Second morning was slightly better and at least warm. All in all not a four star hotel and only has a great view over the lake going for it.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews