We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Lake, good views.”
Review of Lake Vyrnwy

Lake Vyrnwy
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Llanwddyn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A country lover's paradise where peace and tranquility abound, this scenic lake offers an impressive mountainous backdrop and many outdoor activities such as boating, bird watching, hiking and camping.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Lake Vyrnwy is unpronounceable (to me) but very lovely.
Created around the turn of the 20th century to supply water to Liverpool (which is a feat in itself), the reservoir doesn’t suffer like Llyn Celyn does from anywhere near the guilt that might make one exclaim ‘Cofiwch Drywern’ - although you may be tempted.
Anyway, identity politics aside, it’s a big man made lake.
There is a dam, which providing the water is high enough has a lovely to look at series of waterfalls.
Also, there is RSPB hides all around for watching birds, which is nice.
The parking is adequate enough, although in high season I have my doubts.
There is a sculpture park where you can wander about wondering why some of the sculptures are missing and more importantly what on Earth the artists were on.
There are a few cafes, we brought a picnic, so take other’s words on the quality v cost angle.
We walked to the straining tower, which my 9 year old daughter found amusing in a lavatorial sense because she has her Daddy’s sense of humour. So that was pretty funny. But you can’t go in and strain, so head back to the bridge if you need the toilet.
All in all, a lovely spot.
Expect to spend a couple of hours if the weather holds up.
I’m led to believe there are water sports galore there, however that isn’t my sort of thing so I dunno.

Thank Nick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn_Trent_Water, Customer Care at Lake Vyrnwy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there ,
Thanks for the really nice detailed review of the site , really sounds like you had a good day filled with some funny moments also .

Glad you managed to explore the site and take in some of the different activities and areas.

Hope to see you and family again soon.

Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sculpture park"
in 40 reviews
"rspb shop"
in 26 reviews
"bird hide"
in 21 reviews
"bird watching"
in 14 reviews
"stunning views"
in 20 reviews
"car park"
in 24 reviews
"across the bridge"
in 5 reviews
"hire bikes"
in 11 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 24 reviews
"wooden sculptures"
in 6 reviews
"craft shops"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful spot"
in 6 reviews
"drive round"
in 5 reviews
"walk or cycle"
in 7 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 8 reviews
"fantastic place"
in 6 reviews
"artisan cafe"
in 8 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Visited during October half term. Stayed in a nearby cottage and managed to go for couple of walks following the walks and trails guide. The views were stunning, the walks are very interesting, some of them involve climbing or steep descents and are partially on the road but they are so worth it. The autumn colours added to the charm.

Thank Justyna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn_Trent_Water, Customer Relations at Lake Vyrnwy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for your wonderful review of Lake Vrynwy.
I am so glad that you had a lovely time, the Autumn colours sound stunning.

The lake is beautiful any time of year, I especially love the Straining Tower and Bridge, although I have managed to find some lovely waterfalls and woodland too.

I hope you come back again soon to enjoy Lake Vrynwy in every season

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The lake is picturesque with wonderful picnic locations situated around it. You can take a casual drive, cycle or walk around the lake. Lots of beautiful waterfalls and nature scenes, there is also a wonderfully built dam.

Highly recommend a visit.

Thank CustomerStandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn_Trent_Water, Customer Relations at Lake Vyrnwy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for your review of the simply magical Lake Vrynwy.

I adore the "fairytale tower" linked to the shore with the arched bridge.
It's actually the straining tower which means the water passes through a fine metal mesh to filter out any solid materials in the water. Pretty handy :)

You have inspired me to visit here again, worth the journey especially now Spring is here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Hard to believe this is actually a reservoir rather than a natural lake, this is well worth a visit. Rond the lake road is about 13 miles, but flat. Nice drive or bike hire available by the dam. Varios parking options. Good picnicing spaces, walks, a couple of tearooms as well.

Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn_Trent_Water, Customer Relations at Lake Vyrnwy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your review of the stunning Lake Vrynwy.

I love to look over the lake at all of the forest, meadows and moorland as well as exploring the waterfalls hidden around.

I hope you come and join us again soon, perhaps we will see each other having a much needed cuppa at the tearooms :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We're lucky to live quite close to Lake Vyrnwy, so often take visitors there for a look around. The dam is spectacular, the RSPB shop is worth a visit, the bird hide by the Artisans cafe is always good. Artisans itself is OK, functional, but it's a shame that the other cafe only opens during the summer months, as do the gift shops. Kayaking on the lake is good fun, as is hiring a bike and cycling the easy twelve miles around the lake (except when it rains!). If you fancy something more relaxed and special, it's good to go for coffee or afternoon tea at the hotel, with its fantastic panoramic view of the lake.

Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn_Trent_Water, Customer Care at Lake Vyrnwy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi

Thanks for your review of Lake Vyrnwy!

This really is a spectacular place with stunning views all around and is definitely a place to share with your friends and family.

There are so many activities and things to see and do here including the kayaking which we agree is really fun!

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Vyrnwy also viewed

Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys
Bala, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Lake Vyrnwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing