We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Our “Happy Place”

Me, my partner and our dog, Frankie discovered this hidden beauty spot back in March 2017. We... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
katieannastasia
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
via mobile
Beautiful place

Amazing scenery and space for everyone. Lovely scenic drive (well, motorbike for us) around the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
melm14xx
,
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 452 reviews
  
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
347
84
17
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
347
84
17
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sculpture park rspb shop bird hide bird watching stunning views car park well worth a visit hire bikes across the bridge craft shops wooden sculptures walk or cycle drive round artisan cafe coffee shop supply water lovely walk
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Visited during October half term. Stayed in a nearby cottage and managed to go for couple of walks following the walks and trails guide. The views were stunning, the walks are very interesting, some of them involve climbing or steep descents and are partially on the road but they are so worth it. The autumn colours added to the charm.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Justyna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn_Trent_Water, Customer Relations at Lake Vyrnwy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for your wonderful review of Lake Vrynwy.
I am so glad that you had a lovely time, the Autumn colours sound stunning.

The lake is beautiful any time of year, I especially love the Straining Tower and Bridge, although I have managed to find some lovely waterfalls and woodland too.

I hope you come back again soon to enjoy Lake Vrynwy in every season

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The lake is picturesque with wonderful picnic locations situated around it. You can take a casual drive, cycle or walk around the lake. Lots of beautiful waterfalls and nature scenes, there is also a wonderfully built dam.

Highly recommend a visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank CustomerStandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn_Trent_Water, Customer Relations at Lake Vyrnwy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for your review of the simply magical Lake Vrynwy.

I adore the "fairytale tower" linked to the shore with the arched bridge.
It's actually the straining tower which means the water passes through a fine metal mesh to filter out any solid materials in the water. Pretty handy :)

You have inspired me to visit here again, worth the journey especially now Spring is here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Hard to believe this is actually a reservoir rather than a natural lake, this is well worth a visit. Rond the lake road is about 13 miles, but flat. Nice drive or bike hire available by the dam. Varios parking options. Good picnicing spaces, walks, a couple of tearooms as well.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn_Trent_Water, Customer Relations at Lake Vyrnwy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your review of the stunning Lake Vrynwy.

I love to look over the lake at all of the forest, meadows and moorland as well as exploring the waterfalls hidden around.

I hope you come and join us again soon, perhaps we will see each other having a much needed cuppa at the tearooms :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We're lucky to live quite close to Lake Vyrnwy, so often take visitors there for a look around. The dam is spectacular, the RSPB shop is worth a visit, the bird hide by the Artisans cafe is always good. Artisans itself is OK, functional, but it's a shame that the other cafe only opens during the summer months, as do the gift shops. Kayaking on the lake is good fun, as is hiring a bike and cycling the easy twelve miles around the lake (except when it rains!). If you fancy something more relaxed and special, it's good to go for coffee or afternoon tea at the hotel, with its fantastic panoramic view of the lake.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ColinC1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn_Trent_Water, Customer Care at Lake Vyrnwy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi

Thanks for your review of Lake Vyrnwy!

This really is a spectacular place with stunning views all around and is definitely a place to share with your friends and family.

There are so many activities and things to see and do here including the kayaking which we agree is really fun!

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

This is simply beautiful, we stayed for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we paid for a room with a balcony it was so worth it the sky was stunning.
The food was excellent our only complaint was that there was no dress code in the restaurant for dinner which let it downwhy people think it is acceptable to wear jeans for dinner amazes me. The guy at the table next to us with his drunken partner had his backside out the top of the waistband, it spoilt the evening really. Breakfast overlooked the water it was so relaxing, we would certainly go there again.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Anne J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn_Trent_Water, Customer Care at Lake Vyrnwy, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi Anne,

We're so happy you celebrated your wedding anniversary here surrounded by such a beautiful setting.

The view from the resturant overlooking the water is indeed relaxing with the lake and greenary stretching out for miles.

I'm sorry your evening was spoilt, Unfortuantely we dont uphold a dress code at the resturant however I hope this wont deter you from visiting us again here.

Best Wishes.

Steph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews