We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and relaxing”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanbrynmair, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Alison V
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Just spent a week at this delightful cottage in beautiful location. Perfect for Dog owners as the owner thought of everything - dog bowls, spare lead, dog towels all there for us. Cottage cosy, clean and well equipped but the location made it. It is down a steep drive that I wouldn't have liked to go down in the ice or snow but the river running by the side of the cottage was perfect. We spent many hours building dams, exploring and paddling. The weather was perfect which probably helped. Enjoyed our break so much my son cried all the way home because he wants to live there. Will definitely return...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire and the stream
Liked least: Kitchen bait dated and probably needs upgrading. Patio was a bit dodgy but due to be fixed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Reviewed 14 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandhya S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feel cheated and would not bother with this place if you have a baby!”
Reviewed 23 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I visited this property with our 8 month old baby for a week. It turns out this was an issue for the landlady as they later on reported to Sykes cottages( through which we booked this cottage) that they were 'never told that we were coming with a baby'. Well, I just think that's a tad ridiculous given that neither the online booking form on sykes expects you to list guests under 2 years of age (it specifically asks you to exclude infants when listing the number of guests) nor does the property specifically forbid children. So I can't see how or why we are supposed to report a baby guest!

We contacted the owners, as instructed, 2 days before our visit. The landlady said we could get there earlier than the scheduled check in time of 3pm and that they were very relaxed about timings unless they had back to back guests at the property. At that point I mentioned we might try and get there early as we we travelling with our baby girl. So yes, she was made aware during the course of the conversation that we were going with a baby. But she never once questioned us either before or during our visit or during our telephone calls during the week.

Anyway, the property seemed very well maintained on arrival. There were a lot of extras in terms of firewood, complimentary shampoos, soaps, cleaning agents, books, music cds etc, which was good. However on one of the days, mid way through a shower the water flow from the power shower suddenly stopped, which was a pain as one can imagine. the landlady was slow to respond when we texted her about the problem. So we ended up carrying hot water from the kitchen downstairs to the bath on the first floor to bathe our baby. It turned out that the fuse had tripped.

On the second occasion the bath water suddenly turned cold from hot. So the water in the bath turned uncomfortably cold as we could not get the water to get warm again. It turned out that we had to leave the boiler on for longer than it had been 'set' for. So although the charges included electricity and fuel, the landlady had 'set' the boiler and heating to come on only for 2 hours each in the morning and evening. It took us a while to figure this out and we were not happy about it, given that the booking amount included fuel and electricity. Also not having a warm place with no water in the shower, with a little baby is hard to manage.

We didn't sit in the garden chair facing the river as there were two nasty lumps of dog poo, possibly from the previous guests. The cleaners had not cleaned this and it was stinking. We also had to keep the kitchen window shut as a result, lest the stench would drift into the kitchen.

The worst shock came after we left the property. We received a nasty message fom the cleaning company about the 'horrible mess' we had left the property in and that there would be a charge. It was quite a shock to us as we had spent all morning cleaning all the vessels in the kitchen, arranging things and emptying garbage bins. yes, linen etc was a bit out of place and the place looked lived- in. We had also not cleaned the ash from the fire place. We of course did not leave it like a spotless hotel room. But it was not disgustingly dirty as it was made out to be. the landlady had an issue that we had used bath emollient oil for our infant who suffers from eczema. So she made us pay extra charges to pay her cleaners. I thought you hired cleaners to clean up a place before the next guest arrived. But in this case, clearly that is the job of the guests! So I wonder, why bother going on vacation?!! Might as well stay at home and scrub and clean after yourself!

Basically, don't bother visiting if you have a small baby. And if you do visit this property take a mop and loads of cleaning detergent. Ensure you scrub the place clean and leave it gleaming!!! Don't assume that the charges you pay include cleaning as you may end up getting charged extra for not leaving it spotlessly clean for the next guest to arrive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river running by the property
Liked least: The water system and the expectation to leave the property spotlessly clean!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kribie
Kalmthout, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: De woning was eenvoudig, maar alles was van alles voorzien. Er waren lakens, handdoeken, toiletpapier, afwasmiddeel... dat was zeer aangenaam.
Liked least: We hebben geen bemerkingen, maar we misten wel een koffiezetapparaat.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing