We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great exhibition, shop and cafe”

Offa's Dyke Association
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Knighton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are situated on the Offa's Dyke Path, almost half way between Prestatyn and Chepstow where the path begins and ends. We have an Exhibition with information about King Offa and the Dyke. We also have a coffee shop and gift shop. There is plenty of parking and we are a short walk from the centre of beautiful Knighton town. We are open daily from April to October 10am to 5pm and in the Winter season from November to March we are open daily except Tuesday, from 10am to 4pm. We look forward to welcoming you to our visitor centre soon!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This is a great place to visit. Well designed exhibition, small shop and cafe with homemade cakes, tea and coffee served in proper cups. Well worth a visit.

Thank CCurry88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Information Assistant at Offa's Dyke Association, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you very much for such a lovely review, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit and found everything here worthwhile. Hopefully you will be able to call again soon for another cuppa and cake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"very helpful staff"
in 3 reviews
"coffee and cake"
in 3 reviews
"alongside the river"
in 2 reviews
"interesting information"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 3 reviews
"free entry"
in 2 reviews
"nice walk"
in 2 reviews
"tourist info"
in 2 reviews
"centre"
in 25 reviews
"path"
in 6 reviews
"exhibition"
in 4 reviews
"toilets"
in 6 reviews
"history"
in 8 reviews
"walks"
in 5 reviews
"gifts"
in 2 reviews
"walkers"
in 2 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived with 1 dog in tow to find that they now do not allow dogs anymore. So we could only gaze through the window at the completely empty cafe dreaming of the cake and coffee delights which are now reserved for dogless people. Having been cast into the rainy April streets of Knighton thirsty and hungry we were fortunate that a local hostelry(the horse and jokey) took pity on us.
If they had mentioned on there website, which we checked before setting out we would have planned a different stop off.

Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Information Assistant at Offa's Dyke Association, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Mark

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed to find that we do not allow dogs inside the centre because we do allow dogs on the covered decking area where we have seating and tables, with a doggy drinking bowl provided.

I am not sure of the time that you called in but the coffee shop closed at 2.30pm during the Winter season and the centre at 3pm, so if the tables were not available outside this could have been the reason. Our Summer season has now commenced and the coffee shop is open until 4.30 and the centre until 5pm.

I hope this explanation helps a little as we were very much saddened to see your 1 star review when we do try to cater for everyone as much as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Friendly and interesting place to visit reasonably priced and friendly staff
With plenty of information and displays.

Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We only nipped in for coffee and cake and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Homemade cakes and biscuits were lovely especially the blueberry shortbread.
Nice little walk and playarea at the back.

Thank shefftribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Information Assistant at Offa's Dyke Association, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for such a great review. I must agree, the shortbread biscuits are out of this world! The cakes too are amazing and I am glad you enjoyed them. We are situated in a beautiful spot so hopefully you will return again soon and sample more walks and cakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Called into the centre, there is some very interesting facts in the exhibition. The lady gave us a map and detailed various routes you could walk. Enjoyed one of the shorter routes alongside the River and seeing the autumnal changes of the trees, colours amazing.

Thank joyce04Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Offa's Dyke Association also viewed

 

Been to Offa's Dyke Association? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing