We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Outstanding Cottage!”
Ty Mortimer cottage set in open countryside, spacious inside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ty Mortimer cottage set in open countryside, spacious inside
Relax on comfy sofas after walking the coastal path Relaxing in the sitting room after a enjoying a coastal walk.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Ty Mortimer cottage set in open countryside, spacious inside
Relax on comfy sofas after walking the coastal path
Relaxing in the sitting room after a enjoying a coastal walk.
Kitchen with dining area
Bedroom with 3 comfy single beds
View into back garden
Quirky window to view the sunset
Horseshoe on wooden beam
Ty Mortimer cottage plaque built by John Mortimer 1854
Ty Mortimer cottage
Romantic double bedroom looking towards St Davids
Porthllisky beach with its clear waters for bathing and snorkeling. Just a 10 minute walk away.
The awaspiring Ramsey Sound in flood. Most westerly point in Wales. Ideal for a picnic and to relax
Heady smell of gorse as you approach Porthllisky Bay from Ramsey Sound.
Ewes and lambs grazing near Porthllisky beach in Treginnis Uchaf
St Justinian lifeboat Station along the coast path from Treginnis headland
Whitesand beach only 10 minute drive away, safe for swimming, surfing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JamesL201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Cottage!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My friends and I visited St. Davids, staying just outside of the main city in this cottage for three nights. The owners were exceptionally friendly and very supportive in helping us to organise our trip.

The cottage was presented immaculately. It was a good size, with all the ammeneties that I possibly could have required.

We enjoyed sitting outside for al fresco meals, and having direct access to beaches and the Pembrokeshire costal path.

Although we travelled without a car, the support and friendliness of the two local taxi drivers also made this a very possible and affordable venture.

I hope and look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size + Rural Location
Liked least: A tricky front door lock...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2013
Wonderful to hear that you had a lovely stay at our cottage, found the amenities to your liking and the local taxi drivers helpful and friendly too. So glad we were able to accommodate you on a short break.
Thank you for your kind review, Eleri and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith C
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
“The athmosphere of the old days, the luxury of 2013 and a stunning location”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Rob and Eleri are very friendly "hosts". My husband and I visited Wales for the first time. We love surfing and hiking and arrived with loads of surfgear on our roofrack,
Immediate, Rob and Eleri offered a storage place in there shed for our gear.
We live in a city and we love old houses. This cottage from 1857 is stunning!!! Very beautifully renovated without disturbing the atmosphere from the old days but with all the comfort and space of these days (fast enough Wifi for allround internet use, a well equiped kitchen, a decent tv in the living and a nice bath and good shower).

Straight from the kitchen when we could see the little lambs playing in the whey around the house.
When you like hiking, it is perfect: you can start just from the cottage!
The cottage is just 2 miles awway from St. Davids. A lovely place to walk around and with nice pubs/ restaurants.
tip: the sundowner on the rocks in the middle of the whey is awesome showing the really magnificent landscapes of Pembrokeshire coastal park

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the cottage is above average as well!
Liked least: to leave ;)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for staying here at Ty Mortimer and for your lovely review. We enjoy making guests feel welcome in order that that they can appreciate St Davids and the peninsular as much as possible. Please mention us to your friends in Holland and hopefully you may come and visit us again with better surfing weather. Best wishes, Rob and Eleri.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly magical to rest and recharge.”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Ty Mortimer is a beautiful cottage with good facilities, set in a fabulous location with rugged coastline and stunning beaches close by.

Eleri is incredibly helpful and will try and help you in any way she can.

In addition to stunning coastal walks, exciting boat trips and beautiful beaches, there are opportunities to see a wide variety of wildlife. There are also good facilities to meet the needs of young and old in St Davids with a variety of places to eat. St Davids Cathedral is spectacular.

For those who don't mind travelling further afield, there are also lots of attractions for all the family.

Whether you are somebody wanting long walks and coastal activities, arts and crafts, historical attractions, fun 'n' games for the kiddies young and old or simply the opportunity to snuggle up by the fire with a good book, Ty Mortimer has it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving at the cottage at the start of the holiday knowing that we are going to have a really special holiday, even if it means we have to stay in the cottage a lot of the time because it is pelting down with rain!
Liked least: Having to come home at the end of our holiday
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Ty Mortimer. We're thrilled you appreciated it and that you had such a good time. Looking forward to welcoming you back in October
Best wishes, Eleri and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William L
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“A spectacular setting”
Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in June 2012

Have visited Treginnis over many years. The area is wonderful for its scenic beauty and varied natural history (wild flowers; birds - including choughs, yellow hammers and wheatears; seals and porpoises) The scenery is spectacular especially along Ramsey Sound. The geology is very comples (look at the pebbles on Porthlyski beach and the strata on the cliffs.

We always get a very warm reception from Rob, Eleri and family. The locals are always very friendly. There is a good choice of shops in the area as well as restuarants and pubs. If you like the St. Davids area you will want to return time after time. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Life on the farm
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is always to a pleasure to show off the scenic beauty that we have here in Pembrokeshire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soufletch
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ever holiday cottage and wonderful location”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We hadn't visited this part of Pembrokeshire for many years and had never heard of Treginnis Head. For us it was paradise. The cottage was pretty, spacious and comfortable and equipped with everything we needed and more. We were blessed with four days of dry, sunny weather (perhaps Rob is right about the Treginnis Head micro-climate?) and walked a different part of the coast path each day, always finding a new footpath leading directly back to Ty Mortimer (sometimes via Lower Treginnis where Rob and Eleri also farm and work with the children who visit thanks to the amazing charity 'Farms for City Children' founded by Michael Morpurgo and his wife). We returned to Ramsey Sound for our last walk and were treated to fantastic multiple sightings of leaping porpoise, as well as a few grey seals and the gannets, oyster-catchers, chough, stonechats and other seabirds and small birds we had trouble identifying. It was hard to tear ourselves from the coast path to visit the Bishop's Palace and Cathedral just down the road in St David's but we were so glad we did: both were beautiful and fascinating with excellent guide books.
Rob and Eleri were in the middle of the lambing season but still found time for a friendly chat whenever our paths crossed. The farm dogs and cats were ready to be friendly but didn't bother with us when they found we weren't likely to reciprocate. I was dismayed when we arrived to find that the 'central heating' was in fact night storage heaters and I had worried about the charge for electricity used. However, all the rooms were warm and cosy and the electric fire in the lounge gave the boost (and focal point) we needed in the cooler evenings. At the end, even for just two of us and notwithstanding the electricity charge, we thought Ty Mortimer was excellent value. I am sure we'll go back and are recommending it to family and friends. The website didn't do it justice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage, owners, location
Liked least: Night storage heaters (though they worked fine and were probably the best option)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It’s great to hear that you’ve been able to enjoy the beauty of Treginnis and have learnt so much about the local area during your stay. Glad to hear that the cottage met your expectations and you found it cosy. I must confess that our heating options were limited when we renovated the listed 2 building and we were able to install modern night storage heaters which work efficiently for our guests. Thank you for the feedback on the website, this has recently been updated, I hope that you will return again soon and let me know how this can be further improved. The lambs are doing well, despite the cold weather, and we are looking forward to more Spring like weather soon to see them dancing in the fields.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing