We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil and Reaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Annex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Annex
Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Annex
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom
Proximity of river from house
Annex seating area
Annex garden
Our wildlife pond
Just to remind you where the 'rest of the world is'!
Fancy a dip? large pool in front of the road bridge
View down the driveway of annex plus owners house in background
garden view of owners property and annex
Sunny seating area
Gwendraeth River
Summerhouse seating area
Firepit
Kidwelly Castle
Gwendraeth Fach at Industrial Museum Kidwelly
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kidwelly, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
June S
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquil and Reaxing”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The accommodation in the annexe was superb and could not be faulted. Everything that you needed was provided and more. We had a wonderful week and Cathy and Paul were really good hosts, friendly and helpful. Every time we returned we were greeted by chickens and dogs with a very warm welcome. Really miss this now we are home. Cathy and Paul have a wonderful home and gardens which they encourage you to share. We would whole heartedly recommend this experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thank you for posting such a lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will come back and see us soon - I am watering that fuchsia for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blancaand...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful and inspiring”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This place is absolutely delightful and we couldn't recommend it highly enough. The accommodation is set in a stunning woodland setting by a river and is surrounded by flowers which Cathy and Paul have planted. Cathy and Paul are a very welcoming and inspiring couple, they raise chickens, goats and bees as well as growing fruit and veg, and have moulded the landscape around the accommodation into a series of natural gardens and paths which compliment the beautiful surroundings. We would love to come back and learn more from Cathy and Paul about how to tread more lightly on the environment, they are an inspiration to people who dream of living more in harmony with nature.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c b
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good base for exploring”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed four nights. Well equipped, clean and cosy, it's a good base for touring the area. Friendly hosts. Good food at local pub The Red Lion Inn, Llandyfaelog.
Note that WiFi internet is available if requested, as the Router in house needs to be moved nearer to flat to receive signal.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review - please note we have recently purchased a Wifi extender, so hopeful that the signal will be better in the annex.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margot C
2 reviews
“Magic”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This is a tiny but delightful place to stay, ideal for a couple. It is rural bliss with delightful hosts, tucked away in a secret river valley teeming with wildlife and domestic animals.If you are looking for city sophistication, or you worry about steep hills and getting out of the car to open and shut gates, then don't go here, leave it to those of us who love it!
I hesitate to recommend it as I don't want it to be booked when I want to return!
Good level access for those with mobility difficulties, but would not suit someone travelling alone who had mobility difficulties because of the gates.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: the tiny colander
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2014
Thank you Margot and Robert for reviewing our property, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgealan
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Improvements Needed”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The property was located in a lovely setting although it was extremely small and came with a few snags. For two days we had no hot water caused by a depleted oil tank this made life a little difficult for bathing and washing. It was impossible to sit outside and enjoy the good weather as mine host spent all day using a petrol strimmer to clear an overgrown area. Apologies were given but that doesn’t ease the problem when we had come away for a relaxing time.

The property was advertised as ‘aged friendly’ although not wheelchair accessible. We both have mobility problems and getting in and out of the bath was extremely difficult as no grab rails were provided. The lounge had just one sofa bed which was too low making it impossible to get up after sitting down. What is needed is a small high rise high back armchair. We came prepared with our own portable chair.

Apart from that the owners were very helpful and nice to know and we would guess a wonderful place to stay in normal circumstances.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Livestock
Liked least: Lack of hot water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2013
We would like firstly to apologise to these guests for the problems they incurred during their stay with us, however we are saddened by the fact that they didn't talk to us directly about these problems when they were here which would have enabled us to have made their stay more restful / comfortable. They stayed a week Sat - Sat.
It is regretful that the boiler chose this time to breakdown, but actually they were only inconvenienced on one day and not two as stated. It was actually me who first drew the problem to their attention as I had hoped they hadn't been inconvenienced when I had found we had no hot water and I was assured they hadn't been. Then I kept them in the loop thereafter with regard to oil delivery and repair, with the unfortunate incidence of no hotwater just once during this period.
With regard to strimming - if we had only known they wanted to sit outside we would have changed our schedule around so that they could have done so. However they made no attempt to sit outside when we weren't strimming nor did they talk to us about this inconvenience on the many times we passed the time of day. I had apologised for the noise on the first day of clearing (Monday) and was assured by our guests that it wasn't a problem and they understood we had to do it. Monday was actually the worst day with only a couple of hours in the afternoon on Tues / Wed / Thurs. The area is our wildlife meadow, which we cut back each Autumn to keep any bramble and nettle under control and allow flowers to come through the following year. We are rewarded for our trouble with a host of wild flowers starting in January with snowdrops and gorse then a multitude of other bee / butterfly friendly plants following. This area is really important to us and this year in particular it has been a wonderful nectar cafe.
Yes we advertise as suitable for people with mobility problems because the annexe is completely on the flat and there are non slip tiles on the floor in the bathroom. The space makes it easy for people to get around. Again, if we had known the bath had been a problem to get in and out of then we could of either offered them the use of our downstairs walk in shower, but if that hadn't suited I could have made a trip to the mobility people in Carmarthen and hired bath aids. I must stress we are not unapproachable and we very much want our guests to have a comfortable stay. The annexe has 3 rooms - the bedroom and living / kitchen area both 12ft square and the bathroom 12 x 7. I agree the space is not vast, but the price we charge reflects this and the majority of our guests use it as a base to explore the surrounding welsh countryside. We do however take great pains to make it a home from home and have been complimented regularly about kitchen utensils, generous welcome pack and store cupboard items. Any space, however vast, would feel small if you sit in it for long periods of time and unfortunately these guests did spend a great deal of time sitting indoors. Carmarthenshire / Gower / Pembrokeshire all have wonderful places to visit, with cafes to just sit even if you have problems getting around, where you can admire the views, birds, wildlife or whatever takes your fancy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing