We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ”

King's Cafe at Talyllyn Railway
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Tywyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 12
Description: The Talyllyn Railway is a historic narrow gauge steam railway, running from Tywyn to Abergynolwyn and Nant Gwernol through unspoilt Snowdonia. Tywyn is home to the Narrow Gauge Railway Museum, Railway Shop and King's Licensed Cafe & Bistro. The line passes the delightful Dolgoch Falls and there are excellent forest walks at Nant Gwernol. We offer a great day out for all the family. Groups receive a discount when booked in advance.
Restaurant details
Description: The Talyllyn Railway is a historic narrow gauge steam railway, running from Tywyn to Abergynolwyn and Nant Gwernol through unspoilt Snowdonia. Tywyn is home to the Narrow Gauge Railway Museum, Railway Shop and King's Licensed Cafe & Bistro. The line passes the delightful Dolgoch Falls and there are excellent forest walks at Nant Gwernol. We offer a great day out for all the family. Groups receive a discount when booked in advance.
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Staff friendly, menu choices were good and prices were fair.
Cafe offers views of the railway so you can watch the locos moving around getting ready to take you up the line.

Thank MasterKit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Public Relations Manager at King's Cafe at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope your meal didn't go cold with the distractions of the trains outside.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Service really good & friendly. Soup was homemade, sandwich had loads of ham in it. Soup & half a sarnie for £5. Sunday lunch £12 for 2 courses & looked delicious incl homemade hot pudds. Can have smaller portions for adults at £10.50 as well as children's portions

Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Public Relations Manager at King's Cafe at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

All our soup is made fresh on the premises.

Hope to see you again for Sunday Lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

After a trip on the train it is a good cafe to wait and enjoy a light meal while others in our party went to the Narrow Gauge railway museum

Thank rogerrobert98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Public Relations Manager at King's Cafe at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to our cafe. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

15 of our group visited the Talyllyn railway so had our lunch in the Kings Cafe.Which serves a wide choice of food&drink,I myself can recommend the Roast Beef bap with chips + a mug of tea;all brought to your table.Good food+good value;service with a smile..

Thank richard e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Public Relations Manager at King's Cafe at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your meal in our cafe. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Have eaten here many times and it keeps getting better! Good selection of items on the menu and friendly staff who provide excellent service. The deserts are a must and, if you're in the area on a Sunday, the roasts are very popular locally - make sure you get in early!

Thank MZD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Public Relations Manager at King's Cafe at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your meal at King's Cafe. We're very proud of our excellent staff who do a wonderful job, even when under pressure at the busy Sunday Lunches!

Who doesn't like a naughty but nice pudding to finish off a meal?

Please call us or email us at kings@talyllyn.co.uk to book a table for Sunday Lunch to avoid disappointment.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King's Cafe at Talyllyn Railway also viewed

 

Been to King's Cafe at Talyllyn Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing