We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Friars Cottage

Spacious comfortable lounge with gallery and vaulted ceiling.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious comfortable lounge with gallery and vaulted ceiling.
Another view of the lounge People are always surprised when they go through the little front door!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Spacious comfortable lounge with gallery and vaulted ceiling.
Another view of the lounge
People are always surprised when they go through the little front door!
Open view of Snowdonia from front garden.
Front of Friars with off road location- Friars is much bigger than it looks!
Floor Plan-all rooms on one floor
Spacious well equipped kitchen with vaulted ceiling and breafast bar
Dining area-seats 6 people
Terrace Room with king bed overlooking garden.
Garden room-recently refurbished double room with it's own bathroom and overlooking garden
Snowdonia View twin room-just refurbished, with open views of Snowdonia.
Shower room for the Garden Room
Shower Room with vaulted  ceiling , for Snowdonia View and Terrace rooms
Walled rear garden with ornamental grasses
Relax on the decking .  Maybe have a BBQ!
Local Cymran Beach with coastal path to Rhosneigr
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Valley, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan R
salford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic place”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

friars cottage beautiful period welsh cottage warm cosy very inviting everythings there for you its a place to relax and charge the batterys up the interior is well thought out by the owner mr brian grimshaw on a nice country lane our party had a brilliant time at friars cottage its a place well worth staying I know we will be back we were sad to leave so ten out of ten for us I would like to thank brian for a great week and lookforward to staying at friars cottage

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thanks very much Alan for you detailed and generous feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your week at Friars and lookm forward to seeing you all again.Regards.
Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Thank you Liz and I'm glad you enjoyed Friars. Hope to see you all in 2018. Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MadJam250
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy cottage in prime location”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you're after a quiet location with a property that's quirky, spacious, comfy and has the most equipped kitchen anywhere, look no further. Friar's is a lovely and very cosy cottage a few minute's walk from a stunning beaches. If you love aircraft, RAF Valley Hawk jets will entertain you. If you love butterflies and a secluded patio garden, you have that all too. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thanks for your review Martin and I'm glad you enjoyed Friars and it's surroundings.welcome back anytime.Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyB196...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is the cottage that I would dream about owning ! It is in a quiet location but walking distance to the beach and not too far to drive to shops, the cottage is fitted out really well has everything you could need , it is very decieving in size from the outside looks quite small however very roomy on the inside , it is the perfect property to unwind in .Brian is a perfect host meeting us on arrival and going through everything with us, thank you Brian for allowing us to stay at Friars , this has been our fourth visit , we will certainly be returning again and would not think of staying anywhere else on Angelsey !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thanks Wendy for your kind review of Friars Cottage. Welcome back anytime!! Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahjc95...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you want a relaxing, 'get away from it all' place, choose friars cottage!”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Not only did friars cottage live up to our expectations it exceeded them!, 3 double bedrooms, 2 shower rooms, large lounge and fully equipped kitchen and a beautiful garden!. Suitable for all ages , you only need to bring clothes as brian has provided everything else even bathrobes. If, like me you love jets, raf valley is close by which was a real treat. The area is beautiful, views of Snowdon, a beach at the end of the lane and so quiet!. Easy access to all routes, we've visited portmerion, beaumaris, great orme tram, snowdonia, llandudno, south stack lighthouse which are all places I'd recommend a visit. Brian is the most wonderful host and goes out of his way to make sure your stay at friars is wonderful. I'll be in touch soon brian with our booking for next year!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thanks for your kind review Sarah and I'm glad you all enjoyed Friars and your adventures on Anglesey and North Wales. Hope to see you all in 2018.Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing