We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“OUTSTANDING COTTAGE”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Beach Retreat

Porthdafarch Beach just 200m away -Have the beach to yourself on quiet days - the cottage sits above
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porthdafarch Beach just 200m away -Have the beach to yourself on quiet days - the cottage sits above
Parking area in front of the cottage and front patio overlooking the beautiful scenery Welcome to the Beach Retreat!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Porthdafarch Beach just 200m away -Have the beach to yourself on quiet days - the cottage sits above
Parking area in front of the cottage and front patio overlooking the beautiful scenery
Welcome to the Beach Retreat!
The house sits just above the beach in a collection of pretty cottages
Living / Dining area
Popular and beautiful Porthdafarch Blue Flag Beach
Living space with steps up to second mezzanine bedroom
Looking down from the mezzanine bedroom over the stunning living area
Kingsize bed for cosy lie ins with great views
Sunny conservatory - soak up the wonderful views out to Sea and Snowdonia / Llyn Peninsula
Relaxing bathroom with shower / bath combination.
Sunny private rear patio with lounger chairs, views over rear garden to fields - great for BBQs
Front patio for a relaxing coffee or breakfast - sunny in mornings
Beautiful design detail throughout
Living / kitchen area all to the highest standard
Bedroom with wardrobe leading onto the bathroom
Fully equipped kitchen with all modern conveniences
The cottage
Mezzanine bedroom with double futon bed
Your retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Trearddur Bay, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
sylvia w
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING COTTAGE”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have just spent time at the BEACH RTREAT cottage, And we had a fantastic time the cottage is in a perfect posistion and we had great views of the pretty porthdafarch bay . The linen was crisp white and the towels were very soft, The kitchen utensils were top nosh, And we were left a welcome pack to help out with just getting to cottage not knowing if the village store was close by, And the pictures that we saw was true to form it was as it said, we had a fantastic bed and the bathroom was brill such a large bath for a big fellow like my husband,Heating if one needed it , We had a fantastic sun room at the front of the cottage over looking the goings on down in the bay great views and very peaceful, I would recommend this cottage to all my friends and fam in fact Sue left some post cards in side the cottage and i have posted a few off to my friends far and wide, The only down fall i would comment on was this cottage as a fantastic sun room, And it would be great to have two comfy chairs in it . we would have liked to sit in the sunroom for longer but it just had two small wooden fold up chairs not good enough to sit on for long , When we saw the people in the next cottage sitting on two small arm chairs thay looked so comfortable , I feel that was needed , That was my only bad review on this cottage, Apart from that we would return to this place but i would take my own fold up relax chairs. You have got this fab sun room but not able to enjoy it, But please visit this cottage for the Quirkyness and the views , and the peace, and outstanding beauty around it,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the week
Liked least: Comfort in the sunroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrek...
staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect location and accommodation for South Stack and coast.”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

You will not be disappointed staying at this well appointed self catering cottage. The Beach Retreat is in a tranquil area with stunning views and Portfadach Beach is a minutes walk away. The Beach Retreat is functionable for self catering needs and is tastefull decorated and spottlesslt clean. The living space has comfortable sofas and has wifi and bluetooth dab radio which we found useful. The bed was comfortable, the best nights slepp I have had in ages and the bathroom has a great shower and bath. The conservatory area at the front was great to relax and for watching the great outdoors! Thank you very much for the welcome pack of milk, juice and cereals. The bottle of wine was a lovely touch, especially as it was my birthday!
We took our dog and have to say the area is ideal as there is a small garden to the rear. The coastal path starts across the road from the cottage and South Stack is walkable although we took the 5 minute journey by car as we had a lot of eqquipment to take. The area has some stunning coast line, we saw seals and puffins. The flora in this area is stunning. We will most definately return later in the year. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samuelsWr...
wrexham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Another great cottage by sue”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, just across the road from the beach, 2 minutes from the coastal path. Lovely view, all amenities, lovely patio at the rear getting the afternoon sun, sun lounge at the front to sit and watch the resident kestrel catching his dinner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor5Ma...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful location”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely stay in beautiful cottage.
The fittings and furnishings are of a high standard and there is a lovely view across fields opposite. The beach is a 3 minute walk away and there is an easy walk along the cliff.
Sue was very helpful with restaurant recommendations.
A great spot to explore the island.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iluvkol
Cheshire England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow! Fantastic views, beautifully furnished and a top location for coastal walks”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from an amazing stay at 'The Beach Retreat' and really wish we had booked for longer! From the moment we walked through the door it felt so homely and cosy! Sue greeted us and showed us around...we were kindly given a complimentary bottle of wine too which was a lovely touch. It was furnished to a very high standard and has everything you would need! It even had a Tassimo machine which my other half was really happy about! There is space in front of the property to park your car and the views are absolutely amazing...sheep and horses in the fields in front and scenic views of the bay to the right. It was so quiet and close to the bay for walks on the beach. We walked along the coastal path which led to several hidden bays, the views were beautiful! We took our dog and she loved it!

There have been comments about the limited use of space to the back of the property, however this wasn't an issue for us at all! You are surrounded by so much land that I wouldn't let it put you off! Also, we were led to believe by reviews on here that dogs are not allowed on the beach in front however this rule only applies from May to September. We absolutely LOVED our time there and are looking forward to returning next year. Thank you to Sue and Trin for making us feel so welcome :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing