We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage with the best views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Milverton Cottage

The Living Room with large French doors into the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living Room with large French doors into the garden.
The Dining Room with views looking out onto the Menai Straits Views of Menai Bridge and the Straits from the dining Room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Living Room with large French doors into the garden.
The Dining Room with views looking out onto the Menai Straits
Views of Menai Bridge and the Straits from the dining Room.
View of the bridge and the Menai Straits from the Living Room.
Cosy gas coal effect fire in the Living Room.
Fitted Kitchen units with all Mod Cons!
The fully equipped Kitchen.
View of the Living Room from the Hallway.
Downstairs Bathroom with walk I shower cubicle, wash hand basin and loo.
Double Bedroom view fabulous views onto the Menai Straits and the garden.
View from the Double Bedroom looking out onto the water.
Fantastic views of the bridge and Menai Straits from the other Double Bedroom.
Double Bedroom looking out onto the fabulous view of the Straits.
Upstairs Bathroom with bath, separate walk in shower cubicle, wash hand basin and loo.
Single Bedroom overlooking the road.
Other Single Bedroom overlooking the road.
View of the Menai Bridge from the garden.
Gate and very gentle steps down into the garden of Milverton.
Stunning view of the Straits and a good place to sit and relax and watch the ever changing water.
View of Milverton  from the water (right hand side of the White House in the centre of the picture)
Watching the sailing boats on the Straits from the cottage or the garden.
View of the Menai Bridge from the Wales side.
Back of Milverton  Cottage showing the  gate into the garden and the two single bedroom windows.
View of Milverton showing it's fantastic position so close to the Menai Straits.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Polly6819
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with the best views”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We found the cottage to be beautifully clean and well-equipped, in a perfect location and with beautiful views of the Menai Strait and the suspension bridge from the living and dining room, terrace and double bedrooms, Anne is very prompt and responsive to emails and a joy to deal with. We used to visit Menai Bridge very often but had not been for 15 years so enjoyed rediscovering places and finding new favourites. We hope not to leave it another 15 years!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review and really pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying at Milverton and found it to be beautifully clean and well equipped, because things like that matter a great deal to us, and so we always try very hard to keep it that way. Glad you thought it was the perfect location and enjoyed the beautiful views from most of the rooms and the garden too! ! It's been our pleasure having you to stay and very much hope you will come again, before too long, as you would always be extremely welcome, and certainly hope you don't leave it another 15 years!
Anne and Gerald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thanks very much for your lovely review and so pleased to hear you all enjoyed staying at Milverton and found it the perfect graduation base. We quite often have families booking to stay at Milverton either for graduations or just when visiting people at the uni, and have even had students on a teacher training course staying in Jan and Feb for a few weeks, when they have to be based near the uni, for their course but elsewhere the rest of the time, as it's very easy to get from the cottage either by car, public transport or indeed by taxi as you did. Pleased you thought the cottage was beautifully presented and in good condition, found everything you needed there and enjoyed the bedding which is all 100% cotton. As for the view, everyone who stays there always absolutely loves it, as you couldn't be much nearer to the water, with always so much to look at! Glad you found the hot water very efficient and always enough for everyone to use, and when the weather is cold the heating works very well too! Although the cottage is set in a very quiet and tranquil position, as you have found within a few minutes walk you have a wide choice of restaurants and more often than not we tend to go Dylan's too, as the food is good and the position overlooking the Straits is gorgeous! But it's certainly not the only good place to eat, right on your doorstep as Menai Bridge is renown for a great selection of eateries! Thank you for recommending us as a good place to stay for future graduations and hope you will be able to come back and stay another time too.
Anne and Gerald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiboy
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better than the photos”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

They say 'location,location, location', well Milverton hits that criteria at AAA+. Located literally on the shore of the Menai Straits under the Telford bridge it is the most stunning of locations.

The cottage has everything, is beautifully decorated and furnished and comfortably caters for 6/7 adults. The main bedrooms are spacious whilst the two twins are adequate space wise although you don't stay at the cottage to spend all day in bed! Both bathrooms have everything you need whilst the kitchen is furnished with all the usual items. The lounge is very comfortable and leads onto a small terrace where you can sit and relax watching life on the strait or just the tide coming in and out. Very therapeutic.

The dining room in keeping with the rest of the cottage is well decorated and looks out over the strait and comfortably sits 7 adults.

The property is a brilliant base to explore both Anglesey and mainland North Wales. On our short visit we went to Beaumaris, Holyhead, South Stack, Caernarfon, Llanberis and the Zip Wire in Bethesda.

Menai Bridge has all the facilities including a Waitrose within 5 minutes, indeed we walked to it once, and has plenty of places to eat. Within a 5 minute walk is the Bridge Inn, Anglesey Arms, Liverpool Arms and Dylan's. Our favourite was the Liverpool Arms, good food and atmosphere.

Upon arrival do not be put off by the apparent lack of parking, the cottage is located on a narrow lane and I was not too happy leaving the car there for fear of damage. However, a quick drive around the one way system and you are bound to find a decent parking spot with 2 minutes of the cottage. Suggest stopping outside the cottage for drop off and pick up.

I cannot speak highly enough of the cottage or indeed Anne the proprietor who is so very helpful and friendly. This is a holiday let of the highest quality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
What a lovely review, one of the longest and nicest we've recieved, so thanks so much for taking the time to write it! And totally agree with everything you have said, particularly as regards the car parking, that you can't park immediately outside the cottage, except to load and unload, because just at this point the road is very narrow, but you can always find somewhere to park very close to Milverton! Pleased to hear you thought the cottage was actually better than the photos, as they were taken a few years ago, and we've done quite a bit to the cottage since then, as we are always trying to update and make it the very best that it can be, as it's very important to us that everybody staying at Milverton loves the cottage as much as we do! One thing however that will never change is the absolutely stunning view, and its position so close to the water, which couldn't be nearer, but yet it will never flood, because of its wonderful elevated position above the Straits! Good to hear you thought Milverton was beautifully decorated and furnished, as it was all interior designed and we absolutely love the result! You certainly packed in a lot of places to visit over your relatively short stay at Milverton, but there's still so much of the island still left to be explored! So hope you will come back and stay again to see the rest, as you would be extremely welcome! And good you sampled some of the fine eateries of Menai Bridge as there's so much choice and the town has an excellent reputation for its huge variety of pubs and restaurants, which are all within walking distance of the cottage! We were also very pleased you thought that the cottage was of the highest quality because we've always tried very hard to make it so and also that you thought I was helpful and friendly, which is kind of you to say, as I really enjoy doing and managing all the bookings of the cottage and lovely that so many of our guests come back and stay many times!
Anne and Gerald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thanks very much for your lovely review and pleased you enjoyed staying at Milverton Cottage and found it the perfect location to explore both Anglesey and the Snowdonia area of Norh Wales. Good to hear that you had lovely weather the whole time you were staying, and were able to sit out in the garden overlooking the Straits, which is a real sun trap, and nowhere nicer, and there's always something interesting to see, whether it be boats, kayaks, rib rides, fishermen, divers, or an enormous amount of different wildlife etc And like most of our guests you hope to come and stay again soon as you would be extremely welcome and we will look forward to it.
Anne and Gerald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Thanks very much for your lovely review and it's always very special to welcome guests back time after time and so pleased you've already booked to come back and stay at Milverton for a 4th time in 2018! Good to hear you all love staying at the cottage and find it all very well equipped because we've always taken on board anything that guests staying there feel we are missing and try and provide that, so hopefully now I think we have probably got everything anyone could possibly need while staying there. And yes agree that the real star of the show is the view, something that I don't think anyone could ever tire of because it's ever changing with always something interesting to look at, either from the comfort of the cottage or when relaxing out in the garden.Will very much look forward to welcoming you back in a years time!
Anne and Gerald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing