We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Utterly brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Milverton Cottage

The Living Room with large French doors into the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living Room with large French doors into the garden.
The Dining Room with views looking out onto the Menai Straits Views of Menai Bridge and the Straits from the dining Room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
The Living Room with large French doors into the garden.
The Dining Room with views looking out onto the Menai Straits
Views of Menai Bridge and the Straits from the dining Room.
View of the bridge and the Menai Straits from the Living Room.
Cosy gas coal effect fire in the Living Room.
Fitted Kitchen units with all Mod Cons!
The fully equipped Kitchen.
View of the Living Room from the Hallway.
Downstairs Bathroom with walk I shower cubicle, wash hand basin and loo.
Double Bedroom view fabulous views onto the Menai Straits and the garden.
View from the Double Bedroom looking out onto the water.
Fantastic views of the bridge and Menai Straits from the other Double Bedroom.
Double Bedroom looking out onto the fabulous view of the Straits.
Upstairs Bathroom with bath, separate walk in shower cubicle, wash hand basin and loo.
Single Bedroom overlooking the road.
Other Single Bedroom overlooking the road.
View of the Menai Bridge from the garden.
Gate and very gentle steps down into the garden of Milverton.
Stunning view of the Straits and a good place to sit and relax and watch the ever changing water.
View of Milverton  from the water (right hand side of the White House in the centre of the picture)
Watching the sailing boats on the Straits from the cottage or the garden.
View of the Menai Bridge from the Wales side.
Back of Milverton  Cottage showing the  gate into the garden and the two single bedroom windows.
View of Milverton showing it's fantastic position so close to the Menai Straits.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
geoffreyw...
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utterly brilliant”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous cottage and superbly equipped. Extremely comfortable.
The views must be seen to be believed they are outstanding.

Will return. Anne the owner was fantastic and made our stay even better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Combination of high quality accommodation with stunning views
Liked least: Parking was a bit of a problem
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Thanks very much for your lovely review and pleased you thought the cottage was utterly brilliant and superbly equipped because we've tried to think of everything anyone would need to make their holiday really fantastic! Even after all the years I've been going there, I still think the views are amazing and very therapeutic! It's been my pleasure having you to stay and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Anne and Gerald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Even better the second time”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from my second stay at Milverton and took a few new bods with me this time. The house was as gorgeous as I remember and the Straits even more so. Not sure if it was the same one from last year, but the Heron who visits each evening is highly entertaining on the beach out front. It really is like a home from home there. Great base to visit the whole of Anglesey and many places across the water in North Wales. We discovered Penmon Point this trip. Ancient ruined Abbey and Dovecot with a sweet little church and, up on the headland, a view for miles out over the ocean with a light house and Puffin Island. Magical. We ate at the Liverpool Arms on one night, just up the road from the house, which I highly recommend but the kitchen at Milverton is perfectly set up to self cater. Already planning trip number three.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of Milverton and the views
Liked least: I loved everything!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review and it's been a real pleasure to welcome you back to Milverton for a second time and good to hear you are already planning a third visit! Pleased to hear that the house and Straits were even more gorgeous, and you were entertained by the heron on the beach each evening! Milverton certainly is a fabulous place to stay if you are a keen bird watcher as there is always a wealth of different birds you can watch, either from inside the cottage, or out in the garden, looking straight out onto the Straits, just a few metres away! Glad you discovered Penmon Point as the ancient monastery and church are always fascinating and the lovely beach with its amazing views across the Menai Straits to Snowdonia is always very tranquil and as you say, quite magical! Very pleased your holiday was even better the second time round and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Anne and Gerald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Milverton is an absolute gem, immaculately presented and superbly equipped.
It offers superb views of the Menai Straits from the verandah literally yards away from the water's edge at high tide.
There is a wealth of wildlife to observe as well as the boating and canoeing which is never obtrusive.
Milverton is in an ideal location to explore the surrounding area.
As I said, a gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased to hear that you think Milverton is a gem of a cottage, immaculately presented and superbly equipped as we've tried hard to make it so! Glad you enjoyed the superb views of the Menai Straits and you enjoyed watching the enormous amount of interesting wildlife on the water from the garden and from the comfort of the cottage. And you found it an ideal location for all the amenities of Menai Bridge right on your doorstep, and a good base to explore all the rest of the beautiful island of Anglesey.
Anne and Gerald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianFi...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best locations on Anglesey!”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our third visit to this fantastic holiday house. The location couldn't be bettered. The Menai Strait is so close, if you glance through the windows at high tide you could be forgiven for thinking you were on a boat. During the day, there is loads to do in the area, especially with young children, and fantastic beaches just 20 minutes drive away. You don't need a car though, as Milverton is located close to the centre of Menai Bridge, with shops, a supermarket, and good restaurants right on your doorstep, as well as some lovely strolls alongside the Straits. The house is very clean and comfortable, with all you need to feel at home - the helpful owners really have thought of everything. In the evening, there is nothing better than sitting out with a glass of wine looking out at the ever-changing vista of the water and that magnificent bridge. My only issue with the place is that a week at Milverton goes far too quickly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review and it's been wonderful welcoming you back to Milverton for a third time, adding you to our ever growing list of guests who return again and again! So pleased that you enjoyed another week staying there, and found the cottage clean and comfortable, and like on both occasions before, you've been lucky having yet another whole week of sunshine! Good to hear that you think Milverton is one of the best locations on Anglesey, as we would totally agree, and often feels as though you are on a boat, as there's only a few metres between the cottage and the ever changing Menai Straits. And yet the cottage is well positioned for all the wonderful amenities of Menai Bridge, and beautiful walks along by the Straits. Although we love to go and stay at Milverton as often as we can, like you, the time always goes far too quickly and so we are always looking forward to our next visit! It's been great to welcome you back to Milverton and hope you will come and stay again before too long, as you would obviously be most welcome.
Anne and Gerald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have had the perfect week staying in Milverton Cottage.
The view of Menai Bridge while sitting on the terrace having coffee or eating breakfast is stunning (all the better because we had sunny weather all week).
The cottage is beautifully decorated and is well equipped for all ages.
Anne and Gerald have thought out every detail to make your stay comfortable and memorable...(the best beds we have ever slept in on holiday).
The location is perfect for exploring this beautiful island. We walked every day, discovering lovely unspoilt areas with breathtaking views. We also found lots of lovely pubs/restaurants (Dylan's only 3 minutes away was a favourite).
We would love to be there now. We all want to go back.
Sue, Stuart.Babs Titch,Nick and Pat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the terrace
Liked least: Nit picking here, it was not a problem.. but the roads are very narrow and for very close parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thanks very much for your lovely review and so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying at Milverton and were lucky enough to have perfect, sunny weather all week. Good to hear that you thought the cottage was beautifully decorated and equipped for all ages because we always hope we have thought of everything anyone might need to have when staying there on holiday. It's always very important to us that everyone who stays there enjoys it as much as we do, and wants to come back and stay, which is obviously the first sign of a good holiday and a nice place to stay! And luckily the majority of guests who stay at Milverton book to come back and stay again, some have been back 4 or 5 times because they have loved it so much! Good to hear that you thought the beds were comfortable as everything we've done in the cottage, hopefully we've done to the highest of standards. And I agree that the cottage is very well positioned for exploring the whole of Anglesey and North Wales too, and definitely in a great position for walking to all the pubs and restaurants of Menai Bridge, and like you, Dylans is our favourite, although the others nearby are also very good. We hope you will come back and stay at Milverton again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing