We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous pet friendly cottage in great location.”
other traveller has booked this property
Our Cottage Garden - listen to the birds and the silence too !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Cottage Garden - listen to the birds and the silence too !
18th Century Welsh Long House Penrhyn Mawr cottage private garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Our Cottage Garden - listen to the birds and the silence too !
18th Century Welsh Long House
Penrhyn Mawr cottage private garden
2 excellent sofa beds upstairs with memory foam matresses too.
Log Fires anyone ?
Large sitting room upstairs with my family furniture to make you feel at home. Great sofa bed too !
View from upstairs sitting room
Cosy King Size memory foam matress
Cosy ,spacious bedroom en suite - comfy mattress. Downstairs.
En Suite shower room  off master bedroom - great shower !
Fully equipped kitchen and all that you need for your holiday
Fridge, freezer, dishwasher and microwave and table for 4 - get cooking !
Utility room with WC, off the kitchen ideal for guests sleeping upstairs without disturbing anyone.
Upstairs - downstairs ! View from the stairs leading to upstairs sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dwyran, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deborah H
1 review
“Fabulous pet friendly cottage in great location.”
Reviewed 27 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Wonderful warm welcome from Claire on arrival. Cottage has everything you need for a stress free holiday. Slice of cake, milk and t-bags waiting for us which was needed after a long journey. Claire is very dog friendly and our two Jack Russell’s loved their stay! The views surrounding the cottage are spectacular. We found the location a great base for travelling around the Isle of Anglesey. Lots of useful information within the cottage for local places of interest and where to eat. Stunning beaches all around Anglesey to walk the dogs. Walked loads, ate and drank loads - the signs of a great holiday!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2018
It was a delight to meet you both. Thank you for your kind words . We endeavor to keep standards high and will always look to tweak where necessary. Our doggie visitors are indeed most welcome and we thank you for leaving everything so beautifully. I do hope you return !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireC...
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing hide away”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We have stayed here twice in the Aspen & Willow Caravans, very friendly welcome with fresh eggs and lush home made cake. The caravans are modern, spotlessly clean and the situation is just beautiful, quiet and tranquil. Our little dog was also made to feel very welcome. Clare & Jenny are fabulous hosts who cannot do enough for you. We will definitely be back again and again. Thank you .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanderer7...
1 review
“An idyllic cottage in the perfect setting for a 'castaway' break.”
Reviewed 18 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Penrhyn Mawr is situated in a less travelled corner of beautiful Anglesey and has a unique feel as a result with Snowdonia mountains as backdrop and the award winning Newborough beach a short drive away. A warm and informal welcome awaited us upon arrival from Jenny who's affection for the area is obvious and infectious. We occupied the single bedroom cottage which is the type of place that embraces you with a warm hug and doesn't let go! The cottage is comprehensively stocked and we wanted for nothing! The impressive views across the Menai straights to Caernarfon and beyond add a feeling of freedom and expanse but with the sense of peace and seclusion we sought on this short break. We would not hesitate to return and would recommend Penrhyn Mawr to anyone who seeks a home 'cast' away from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Such a delight to welcome you to The Castaways - Penrhyn Mawr Cottage. I believe you had a super time. It's wonderful that you enjoyed our home . Come back soon - you are always most welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_M...
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The warmest welcome I have ever received”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 1 week with our tow young children aged 4 and 6.

Claire and Rai were the most welcoming hosts I've ever encountered, right from the first enquiry we made about the cottage. Claire took the time to send us some leaflets through the post ahead of our stay to help us plan it. When we arrived we hadn't had time to go to the shops to get butter and milk, and she gave us a basket with enough to make a simple pasta dinner and breakfast the next day.

The directions we received in advance were impeccable, to get there you have to drive down a rough track which is manageable with an ordinary car. (During our time there we saw rabbits, pheasants, sheep, wood pigeons and other animals on the rough track). The cottage is so peaceful, Claire and Rai live next door. There is a lovely garden too.

There are three bedrooms, we only used two of them as the kids shared a room, plenty of hot water. The kitchen has everything you need. There's a remote control gas fire, and also central heating. Sky TV and a DVD player if you're staying in. The cottage is traditionally decorated in keeping with a "cottage" feel.

Claire lent us buckets, spades, picnic blanket, beach towels (as we don't live in the UK we couldn't bring all this stuff with us on the plane). Nearby Newborough beach is beautiful, our kids also went for a short ride at the nearby Anglesey Riding Centre. We also spent time on the mainland, very accessible, at Caernarfon and at Llanberis / Snowdon. Plenty to do for kids.

Some might find the TV set a touch small, and it would have been good to have had Wifi in the cottage. But these are very small points and overall our stay was wonderful. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Warm welcome and peaceful beautiful place
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your kindest words about our home. We do try to make you feel welcome and we thoroughly enjoy what we do. Our visitors from abroad are always welcome and we are happy to help out wherever possible. On a practical level - the TV will be updated to a larger flat screen model soon, the current one is 32 inches. But there is a full Sky package which hopefully helps the sports addicts ! (like my son) Unfortunately, Wi-Fi we can only dream about. The Welsh Assembly are slow to provide and I would kill for it too ! However, they assure us that one day they will plug us in. There is free Wi-Fi at the nearby Café Bistro Marran Grass. We will always strive to improve and a warm welcome is a guarantee. Clare Brockley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
We love what we do ! Most of our visitors return year after year and I hope you will consider coming back one day too. Thank you so much for your kind words. It really means a lot and we will continue to keep standards high. Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing