We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter holiday family meal”
Review of Trecastell Hotel

Trecastell Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Amlwch
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Could not recommend this restaurant - 3 items I chose were not available (it was 8:00pm in a Saturday night) - service was poor - steaks tasteless- no apologies for menu items not available - really felt like the staff wanted us out so they could set up for the next day. We had read reports about menu items not being available but assumed that a restaurant reading those reports would have addressed this matter. Told we had to use card machines at the bar ( not asked) simple staff training on how to speak to customers would help I think. Wanted to have a good meal here as we would have revisited it at the end of our stay.

Thank CHRISSIE100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded today

That's because we are busy and as not taking pre orders we sometime run out of stuff.
Glad you didn't revisit as probably would have complained that we hadn't repainted everywhere that week even though you obviously had lost the power to walk to the bar on the way out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We visited the area for a week and ate out twice, one of which was at Trecastell Hotel. They were missing a number of dishes ( and were not advised when we were sat at the table). Staff were blunt and unfriendly / unprofessional. Food was ok but definitely but left feeling pretty unimpressed !

Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded today

Average report.
Try harder next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We came here as a friend family of 7. The food was ok. Noting to fault but was expecting more. I wouldn't rush to go back but of in the area and i needed to eat I would possibly return. The views were lovely but for the price the food was average. The staff were friendly and contentive

Thank Michelledevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded today
Google Translation

Bit like like your "ok" report.
Try harder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Good food with varied menu. All served with a smile and helpfulness.Very good gin menu! March is obviously not mussels season.No problem,we'll just have to back again!

Thank adrianhl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded today

Mussels is now on specials periodically as trying other fish based dishes but if you book in advance we will get them in for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

We were staying at Leafy Lane guest house and the owner suggested we try here. I don't normally try and eat at hotels because I generally find they are more concentrated on rooms than food. Not so here. Every course was beautifully presented, delicious and wanting more! Vegetarian options were good for my partner and I chose the fillet steak on the specials. Cooked to perfection. Home made chips were good. Choice of wine was extensive. Waiting staff were young but did a good job. A coffee and G&T sealed the night and the bill was reasonable. Do try if in the area.

Thank pointsslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks but why not 5 instead of 4????

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trecastell Hotel also viewed

Amlwch, Island of Anglesey
 
Amlwch, Island of Anglesey
Amlwch, Island of Anglesey
 
Llanfaethlu, Island of Anglesey
Amlwch, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Trecastell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing