We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful and relaxing setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Hendre Fechan cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hendre Fechan cottage
Lounge We have recently added a wood burning stove for those romantic nights in.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Hendre Fechan cottage
Lounge
We have recently added a wood burning stove for those romantic nights in.
Country style kitchen
On suite
The lounge (a wood burning stove was installed in June 2017)
Lounge
Kitchen
View from the front door
Bathroom
The cottage
The cottage
Bridal path near cottage
Barmouth bridge with Cader Idris in the background
Mawddach estuary
Barmouth bridge
View with the cottage in the background
Cottage garden
Stunning winter view of the mawddach estuary
View of Barmouth Bridge from Morfa Mawddach beach. Really secluded and stunning
Morfa Mawddach beach
Morfa Mawddach is on the other side of the estuary from Barmouth. Taken in April 2016
Sunset views from Morfa Mawddach
To access this beach, walk over Barmouth Bridge and cross over the railway to the beach via footpath
Taly-Bont beach
Taly-Bont beach sunset in October 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Talybont, Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Travellig...
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing setting”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying here for a week. Our party included our little boy of six and our Whippet puppy. We were impressed with the cottage and its furnishings. It was very comfy and covered our needs. The location of the property was excellent. Just far away from the hustle of Barmouth. We were able to explore the area to the full and even tried our hand at crabbing. We would highly recommend Hendre Fechan and would love to visit again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Bumpy access to cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Hi, Thank you for your lovely review I am happy you found the cottage comfortable and your son and puppy enjoyed themselves.
All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne m
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“beautiful area”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The cottage is comfy, quiet, well stocked and has beautiful views.The owners supply bed linen and bath towels, which saves on the packing. We brought our cocker spaniel on this holiday and the enclosed garden was brilliant for her. Lovely to sit out in the evening on the picnic bench and enjoy the sea view, although the view was blocked for two or three days by a horse box. The water in the cottage is not for drinking as it is fed in by stream, this wasnt a problem at all, we drank bottled water and it was fine for teeth and boiled for tea and coffee.The bathroom has a shower but no bath, but the shower was great, lots of hot water. The road up to the property is quite bumpy, but if driven slowly is fine. It's was our first time in Barmouth and we loved it, the beaches are beautiful and loved the shops too. Hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: horse box
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Hi, I am glad you had a comfortable stay. The horse trailer is never parked there now so all views can be seen, we didn't realise how it blocked the view. The water is drinkable it goes through 2 filters and uv light and is tested annually, but does taste very earthy, which is why we recommend brining your own drinking water, makes a cracking cup of tea. Hope to se you again.
All the Best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith S
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUR PERFECT RETREAT”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage clean comfortable and well equipped this was our second visit and we loved it. Off the beaten track with sea views from all windows this cottage is dog friendly and has enclosed garden. Lots to do in the area Barmouth and the Mawdoch estuary are so beautiful the Panorama walk above Barmouth is a must. Plenty of places to eat in Barmouth and most are dog friendly, Looking forward to our next visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Hi Judith, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryStub...
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, tranquil, restful, Harry, wine, beer, baa and lush”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The property was exactly as advertised a peaceful, tranquil cottage right on the coast in rural Wales. Neither of us drive so we were a little apprehensive about the location however, the buses were great. The taxis were good but a little expensive.

The property was stunning, fields of sheep and views of the sea, very well furnished. comfortable and cosy.

We were left to our own devices which personally I prefer. the keys were waiting for us on arrival. The place was lovely and clean.

We were greeted by Harry the cat who is awesome.

We visited Barmouth and Harlech which I highly recommend, get an Ice cream opposite the castle, I suggest Hoci Poci. Stunning views.

Take dvd's, games and books.

If the weather is nice sit out on the bench at the front and watch the sunset with a bottle of wine, bliss!

The pub about a mile or so walk up the road is lovely too.

Overall an excellent break loved every minute.

Saw my first ever Weasel too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Harry the Cat
Liked least: Shower was a little cold
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Hi Barry, What a lovely review, I am glad that you managed to get about without a car so easily. Yes the public transport is not to bad here, in the summer. Hope to see you again.
All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim k
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Lovely cottage. Warm and cosy. A real home from home. Lots to do in the local area, beaches aplenty. Enclosed private garden which our dog loved. Warm welcome from Sam and Harry the cat. Would not hesitate to recommend to others and hope to return ourselves in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
Dear Kim;
Thank you for your lovely review, it was nice to met you.

All the best
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing