We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place”
Review of Pontoon Pwllheli

Pontoon Pwllheli
Ranked #6 of 77 Restaurants in Pwllheli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 18
Description: Relaxed family run business, we have a small team and everything is cooked fresh so waiting times may vary. Great atmosphere with world food music and drink. Plus we have Open Mic's every first Friday of the month!
Restaurant details
Description: Relaxed family run business, we have a small team and everything is cooked fresh so waiting times may vary. Great atmosphere with world food music and drink. Plus we have Open Mic's every first Friday of the month!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

So glad to see Pontoon open after their winter break. Warm welcome, great choice of drinks. Imaginative menu in a great setting. Can recommend the monkfish cheeks , amazing , beautifully presented. Best place on the Lleyn Peninsula.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This place is amazing! Definitely worth a visit. We were in Pwllheli for just 4 days and so glad we stopped here. The food was outstanding and the service was even better. We were made to feel so welcome. Drizzle chips were to die for. Fried chicken tacos were amazing and homemade guacamole tasted so fresh. Thank you Pontoon for a meal we’ll never forget. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Rebecca2187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely place , decorated in a mexican theme , serving gorgeous food , friendly staff and what a view when the sun is shining , overlooking Pwllheli harbour and looking towards snowdon

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank jaqjones72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Great ambiance, friendly helpful staff. Food amazing and beautifully presented. Menu changed regularly. Awesome stock of fabulous gins. This is my very favorite place

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

After trying to book - doing battle with the phone not being answered, we finally managed to book a table. Plentiful car parking.
The main function room was very busy, but we were warned about that. No obvious organisation to 'book in' just stood at the bar for quite a while before someone came to us. We were directed to the table which had a large dirty mark on it. It was so dark ( probably best visited in daylight as it overlooks the harbour) we couldn't see what was on the menu, but soldiered on. We ordered the beetroot and humous starter with nan bread which was excellent, followed by a very different tacho wrapped double Mexican cheeseburger which certainly had a 'whack to it' which I enjoyed. Be prepared for the spicy nature of the food. The service was slow, it wasn't busy, but the food is individually prepared and cooked- the menu warns you about the wait. So be prepared. Overall the food was good, menu is limited, service slow, the ambiance is different. Quite reasonable value for money. Perhaps the staff could be more welcoming/ organisation better?

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank SkipBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pontoon Pwllheli also viewed

 

Been to Pontoon Pwllheli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing