We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,651)
Filter reviews
1,651 results
Traveller rating
1,201
296
91
38
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,201
296
91
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel magical place hotel restaurant bridge house overlooking the estuary watch house day trippers complimentary sherry tv series self catering village rooms italianate village neptune suite chantry row port meirion sitting room january blues
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,651 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter is getting married and we booked a hen afternoon tea at the Hotel as she is not in to manic stuff, we thought it would work well as she is getting married in Positano and the village is, of course, italianate. So we went over this afternoon to try out the afternoon tea and look at whether we might all stay overnight at the hotel. We rang and booked a table. The staff at the top gate were not welcoming when our daughter expressed her excitement over her wedding, stating that we should have made an appointment (for afternoon tea??) with a wedding planner! We walked down to the hotel who couldn't find the booking, we sat down and were almost immediately given a bill for a brace of scones - why? We went back to check and found a table with a reservation on and on enquiring found it was actually for us. We had the afternoon tea which was very nice except for some very doughy scones. We were, however, discomposed and went to ask at the front desk how our party of ten would be sat and where when we returned, they were so totally uninterested and unable to even suggest where we would be put that we gave up, cancelled the afternoon tea for April and din't even ask about the overnight. Either the hotel has so much money that the staff are keen to turn people away or they need to really consider who they are there for. a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location , great beach and pool facilities, nice setting for a wedding......let down by poor service received from bar staff...wanted for cocktails..waited for bill(asked 3 times)...shame ..could have done better

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank julie23carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Guest_Liaison, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your feedback. I am very disapopinted to hear you did not recieve the service you should expect from us. I have brought this to the attention of the Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely place, we had a small cottage on the grounds with our parking space included only to find two cars parked in our spot. On the paperwork it said to let them know the car registration numbers and they would be moved but to our disappointment they did not move them at all the whole weekend. They said they could not find the owners which is total rubbish.
The food in both Hotel and Castle is of the top order including all the bar and waiting staff, first class its just a shame that the staff at reception including one manager could not live up to the standards set by others.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the parking sorted out at the start of your visit.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Guest_Liaison, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your feedback. I am very disappointed to hear this and I will ensure it is brought to the attention of our senior management team. I am pleased that the majority of the staff provided a good service and that you otherwise enjoyed your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good hotel in the middle of picturesque village. Room comfortable, in fact pillow so good we bought one for home! Staff friendly and helpful. Food very good, especially the crispy duck egg! Only criticism is that the service was a little slow at times. Breakfast very filling.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ConnyWasser100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

By far my favourite hotel. Food delicious in the hotel and the castle. Guest service outstanding. Rooms superb. Very quirky each room a different style of decor. We have stayed in 5 different rooms and will visit again.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank ali64hess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Guest_Liaison, Reservations Team at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments! We appreciate you taking the time to post this review and hope to be welcoming you back soon to Portmeirion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews