We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
122
114
94
65
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
114
94
65
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george iii toll bridge old railway sunday carvery mawddach estuary lamb shank lovely meal four poster bed stunning views fantastic food evening meal mid week short break cooked breakfast lodge cyclists dog
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Have visited regularly over the last 12 years , had not managed a visit this year until last week. Greeted by a grumpy barman maybe a smile would not be too much to ask for told we couldn’t order food for 20 minutes so we had a drink and checked out the menu . A new menu and no coronation chicken baguette:( a bit of a tradition . However the chicken sandwich I eventually managed to order was delicious as was my husbands ham one. Overall the food was good but not as friendly and welcoming as before . I appreciate we may need to wait for food as we had not booked a table but your customers are a lot of people who walk or cycle so booking a table is not an option if you just call in and fancy a bite to eat so maybe a smile and some old fashioned customer service would be nice.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are sorry to hear you felt the barman was a little grumpy. Our bar staff in particular can often work 10-12 hours serving customers non stop during the season, it is impossible to smile for this length of time. We are humans not machines. Sometimes we get tired, sometimes we get low but we never intend to be grumpy and we will apologise if people believe we have been so. We all work very hard and alot of work goes into serving all our customers.

We always advise booking as the best way to avoid having to wait. With the proliferation of mobile phones its not difficult to take a moment to do this. We of course endeavour to serve every customer who walks through our doors, unfortunately we sometimes have to ask you to wait a short while before ordering to ease the load on the kitchen and if we are full then we do have to turn customers away.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your food and hope with that in mind we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Plus points
Great location right on the estuary lovely views across the valley. Close to the toll bridge short cut to Barmouth. Breakfast very good and quick friendly service. diner was also good had sardines and goats cheese starters both very tasty.
Minus points
Room damp and musty smell. Bathroom in need of overhaul big time. Damp on ceiling and very tired fixtures. No wifi in our rooms although tv etc. ok.
When rooms refurbed will be a top venue.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hinanospider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We are sorry to hear you were a little disappointed with your room. Unfortunately a particularly wet summer combined with an ageing building has led to a moisture build up in that room. We are trying to mitigate this as best we can until we close for our full refurbishment in a little over four weeks. We agree when this is completed it will be a top venue and we hope you will return to see the improvements.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals and found the staff friendly.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Although when we checked the web site it stated food was served until 3pm our family and several other customers were refused a meal when trying to order between 2.30 and 2.45. Our children were all hungry after a long walk, (arranged to arrive before 3pm) and were very disappointed to have to make do with crisps. There is no where else nearby to eat and I suggest that the establishment either revises its web site or is more hospitable to customers.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank pam61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

We are sorry you were left disappointed. Unfortunately, we were fully booked that afternoon. We would always advise booking to avoid disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Stopped here for lunch whilst on holiday in the area. The restaurant is set in a beautiful location with great views over the estuary. The food is great. Good size portions and great tasting. Staff very friendly.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank MichaelaJH89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and found the staff friendly. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Most stunning location but have no idea about service! Came back after waiting an hour and a half for food last time. This time couldn’t be bothered to wait the half hour to order food let alone how long it would take to come after. For over 30 years this has been a fantastic place to visit for food-unfortunately wont be coming back

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Traveler331507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Sorry to hear you were disappointed.

We manage the flow of orders into the kitchen to ensure no customer waits the length of time you have had to wait in the past and this allows for a better service for all our customers. This does however mean that if you have not booked you may be asked to wait a little while before ordering while we serve those that have booked.

The best way to avoid disappointment and to ensure that you are served promptly is to book a table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews