We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
122
114
94
65
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
114
94
65
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george iii toll bridge old railway sunday carvery mawddach estuary lamb shank lovely meal four poster bed stunning views fantastic food evening meal mid week short break cooked breakfast lodge cyclists dog
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Stopped here for lunch whilst on holiday in the area. The restaurant is set in a beautiful location with great views over the estuary. The food is great. Good size portions and great tasting. Staff very friendly.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank MichaelaJH89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and found the staff friendly. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Most stunning location but have no idea about service! Came back after waiting an hour and a half for food last time. This time couldn’t be bothered to wait the half hour to order food let alone how long it would take to come after. For over 30 years this has been a fantastic place to visit for food-unfortunately wont be coming back

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Traveler331507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Sorry to hear you were disappointed.

We manage the flow of orders into the kitchen to ensure no customer waits the length of time you have had to wait in the past and this allows for a better service for all our customers. This does however mean that if you have not booked you may be asked to wait a little while before ordering while we serve those that have booked.

The best way to avoid disappointment and to ensure that you are served promptly is to book a table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Another year another meal at this hotel...
Food excellent...
A massive improvement on how friendly the staff were, this may have changed hands from last year...
Friendly place, excellent food, great location ...
Thank you..

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank k7wap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us again this year and found the staff to be so friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

I have been served the same, one only vegan dish four times, come on! Get some veg and cook a dish. The staff are totally non helpful when you ask questions and they never smile. Even if you smile sweetly and be really friendly. I asked what they could do me for a vegan dessert, and the waitress came back and said nothing, she didn't apologize or smile. I saw that they did a seasonal fruit with a cheesecake, I said can I have that without the cheese cake, they said OK. Well hello!! That is something vegan. Why didn't they offer me that. It's such a beautiful setting, but with sour staff, a one star higene rating and the one vegan dish, that doesn't even have a V next to it, they really need to step into this century and realise that they have to cater for food intolerances like all other restaurants and that being polite and smiling is really important.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are sorry you were a little disappointed with your meal and the service received. The V was missed off in the last printing and we will add this on for the next printing, thank you for pointing this out. We fully comply with legislation regarding food intolerances and have this information for anyone who needs it. We are always happy to make alterations to dishes where possible and we ae sorry if this was not your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We popped in hear for lunch while walking along the Mawddach Estuary and had an enjoyable meal. We arrived early so we missed the rush and ate outside on the patio. We all rib eye steak and chips and enjoyed it. The steak was of a good quality and cooked as we had requested it. I would say that this is a fairly rustic setting in that some of the furnishings and toilets do need refurbishment. You couldn't call this place sophisticated but it did serve a good meal with drinks for a decent price in a nice setting.

I think the refurbishment that is about to take place is a good idea and hopefully will allow this place to be successful in the long term. I would certainly pop in for a meal if in this area again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TimeTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for your review.

We make sure we buy great quality steaks from our award winning butcher and we believe it makes all the difference, so we are glad to hear you enjoyed them. Some areas are now showing their age but as you say they will benefit from a substantial investment at the end of the year.

We look foward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews