We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
122
114
94
65
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
114
94
65
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george iii toll bridge old railway sunday carvery mawddach estuary fantastic location lovely meal four poster bed stunning views fantastic food evening meal mid week short break cooked breakfast lodge cyclists dog
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Having visited the George for the last 6 years, the last two visits (one in November and one today) have been very disappointing. The food in November was so bad that two of the meals were swimming in water and had to be sent back.

Today, having waited to order food in line for 15 mins, we we told that food stopped at 2:45pm despite the menu showing 3pm (was 2:47pm when ordering). When asked if we could just have a sandwich, the response was of an attitude which seems to be common since the George changed hands when looking at the reviews!

Won't be coming back which is a great shame.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

We are very sorry to hear you were left disappointed.

We have changed chefs since November and the quality of the food offering is much improved. Our kitchen is open until 3pm with last orders taken at 2.45pm. Unfortunately, we do have to have a cut off point especially if we already have a number of tickets on in the kitchen. We appreciate how frustrating this can be. We would hope you will consider returning in the future and trying our food before writing us off completely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

This hotel is most delightfully situated on the Mawddach estuary next to an old train track, now a cycle and pedestrian walkway between Dolgellau and Barmouth. Restaurant beautifully sited, particularly on a fine evening on the open air terrace. Food very pleasant, well above average for a pub/hotel but not expensive for this quality. Breakfast could be better (more fruit and choice of cereal). The place is owned by a brewer who has some commitment to keeping real ale (Robinsons).The room we had was a large twin, plenty of room and comfortable beds and a real bath not just a shower. The walls of the public spaces are covered with interesting historical information (the place has been going a long time). Unfortunately, it is about to be renovated which may mean it loses a lot of its charming ambience, and our favourite twin bedroom will disappear, which is a pity. I agree that the bar area is too small both behind and in front of the bar and more room is required there, but much atmosphere may be lost in the expensive and extensive alterations that are going to occur this winter and coming spring. We will probably go back again next year though with some trepidation about what the designer may have done to remodel the internal space. Trip advisor readers will be the first to learn but it won't be until July 2019 until we are next there, so keep an eye open on this place for reviews from earlier travellers (as indeed we shall be doing).

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank ne479dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are happy to hear you continue to enjoy your visits to our hotel and it means so much to you. We hope that you will be pleased with the changes when you return next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We used to love going to the George to eat and drink but now not.
The place is run down, the staff try but fail.
They need to bring back the Sunday Carvery.
We hope the re-fit goes to plan as the place needs this otherwise it will lose all the old customers.
Again bring back your Sunday Carvery and it will fill the place if its the same quality as before.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank rbennett2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

The hotel has not had any major investment in many, many years.

We have done what we can with limited resources. We have improved the bar range and revitalised the menu. Removed some furniture and redistributed the rest. We have employed a local couple to supply and maintain our hanging baskets and a local artist to fill the walls with his work. We even got our sewing kit out and recovered a cushion in the bar out of our own pocket. But we are not in a position to replace carpets, furniture etc. This will all be done in the winter as part of a major investment by Robinson's Brewery.

The Sunday Carvery was very popular, but it will not be returning. People also forget how many complaints we had about waiting times, having to queue to order drinks, then queue to collect meals, then queue to pay, as well as only being able to eat at 12 or 1:30. Now customers are shown to their table, have their food and drinks order taken at the table, drinks bought to them, food bought to them and they can eat at any time between 12 and 7. Many customers find this works better.

Most Sundays we serve a similar number of customers as we did with the carvery, sometimes more, sometimes less. But we spread these out over a wider time period to provide better service. Consequently, it can feel like we are serving a fraction of the customers. We're not.

We are also looking forward to the refurbishment, the hotel is going to look fantastic and we are sure you will love it and will get used to there being no carvery as there are no plans to bring it back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

An amazing location. We have been using this pub off and on for ten or so years. Every time we come we hope that it as improved on the last time we visited - it never improves.

This is a potential gold mine given it's location and the location is the only merit of this establishment unfortunately.

On our recent visit we saw that it was advertising the downstairs bar, food and the world cup quarter finals. When we arrived the bar was shut, no football even though many people asked for it. We had to wait to even be considered for food. Half an hour later our name was shouted down to go upstairs and order. It was not busy enough to open the bottom bar but way too busy to order food, even though upstairs was sparse.

We asked if they would consider opening the bottom bar but they simple refused. We left without spending our £150 or so that we would have spent that night.

I fully expect the 'management' to come on here and justify their actions as they have done for every complaint they have received, without resolving any issues. Woeful management, terrible customer service and a complete lack of professional culpability. I suggest Robinsons or the new owners of this establishment hire staff/team with basic professional credentials in customer care/services as your profits will rocket. I will not invoice for this binary business advice because any person with the basics would do far better.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DickDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

You forget to mention you popped in during the afternoon and you were told that we would be showing the football IF the cellar bar was open but it probably wouldn't be. It wasn't, so we weren't.

Your definition of many seems a little off as well. We were asked by you (a table of 5) and one other gentleman. All our other customers were there to enjoy a relaxing meal with a fabulous view and probably thankful the football wasn't being shown as that is not why customers come to us.

You also seem to be conflating bar service and food service. Our bar is able to serve many more people than our kitchen. So it is more than capable of serving the number of customers we had that evening which is why we couldn't justify opening the cellar bar for your table. However, our kitchen has a finite capacity and we control the flow of orders into the kitchen to improve service for staff and customers. It is a system that works very well.

It is clear you have a very poor opinion of our hotel and the way we run it. However, it is an opinion, There are many other customers who feel the opposite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Very poor attitude to customers, almost abrupt, to us, and to a couple sat adjacent. Poor service during the meal, finished the main course and sat around waiting for someone to ask if we wanted to see the sweet menu, gave up, paid and left!
Food was actually very nice and reasonable value for money.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal.

We are sorry to hear you found the service so poor. We will look into this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews