We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
203
81
54
26
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
81
54
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea set menu wine list scones market menu a la carte menu drawing room country house hotel public rooms cream tea evening meal roaring fire kedgeree pre dinner drinks lamb stunning hotel travelzoo deal
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Nice and very cordial couple of days here on a travelzoo deal. Beautiful house and gardens, grand public rooms, all the country house hotel stuff done very well. Service in the restaurant a little bit comical (two waitresses unfurling our napkins) but food was clever and tasty. All good.

(NB if using the travelzoo thing... voucher includes a two course ‘market menu’ at 27.50. On hotel menu three courses on said menu are 29.50, so Foolishly assumed having a dessert and making it three courses would cost me £2. Wrong! Was charged 8 quid for admittedly very nice pud.)

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FrSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

The house was a lovely period property with large grounds. Beautiful lounges and large bedroom with very comfortable beds. The food was very good and adequate although not if you have a large appetite. My main concern was we booked and came down to dinner at 7.15pm and kept in the lounge until 7.55pm. Because we didn’t have a drink before dinner, preferring to wait for a bottle of wine with the meal, we were sat twiddling our thumbs for nearly 3/4 hr. The second night I had a tonic water and we were given some hors d’oevres however had finished these some time before being escorted to the dining room. They seemed to be able to deal only with one table at a time! Even at breakfast it was 20mins between ordering breakfast (this was after we had cereals) and it arriving.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank suebmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Disappointed with the afternoon tea we had here, what we got for the price sadly didn’t please and I wouldn’t recommend it. Especially in comparison with other venues in north Wales that do afternoon teas for a lot less and taste a lot better.

The pros - the coffee and tea were really nice, the scones were lovely and staff were friendly.

Cons - the banana cake really didn’t taste nice at all, with the accompanied fruit cake it made the afternoon tea quite heavy. We were also given a little raspberry meringue (frozen raspberries unfortunately) with some sort of cherry moose. This just didn’t taste nice either.

We really wanted to like it but felt it was too expensive and wasn’t as nice as other places.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Really stunning hotel beautiful grounds. We really felt that we were in a small country house where you could use the library or just sit in one of the period sitting rooms, or relax in your luxurious bedroom . Really lovely weekend.

Room Tip: all the rooms were lovely. We booked a deal weekend and our room was fantastic, big walk in shower as well as the rolltop bath.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugh e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

As a family of 8 and 1 dog, we visited for afternoon tea. A beautiful hotel, thoughtful, helpful and very polite staff. The afternoon tea was excellent and their scones were so light and delicious as were all the other cakes. We had a gentle stroll around the grounds which are very well kept. Would recommend this hotel, well worth a visit.
Thank you for making our visit a wonderful experience, hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ahih2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews