We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely simple accommodation - beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cefn Coed

Cefn Coed Bunkhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cefn Coed Bunkhouse
Kitchen Inglenook Fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Cefn Coed Bunkhouse
Kitchen
Inglenook Fireplace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 12
Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PeteB999
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bunkhouse OK, site a bit scruffy and shower didnt work”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Abandoned caravans, holiday chalets and cars around the site give it a bit of a Butlin's gone bad vibe. The bunkhouse was generally pretty good, decent kitchen, bedrooms average but shower didn't work and I didn't get a particularly helpful response from the owner when I gave feedback prior to filling in this review.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValArch20...
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nothing would persuade me to go near the place again.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The bedrooms are barely adequate-one has a foot of space around it and you have to get dressed on the corridor.Kitchen is sufficiently stocked but washer does not work.Filthy sofas and rug-health hazards.
Outside was like living on a refuse tip-bins not emptied,beer cans all over,a wrecked car gently rusting away on blocks,derelict cabins and caravans,pools of stagnant water and to cap it all on Wednesday of the week, the water ran out.
It was only by chancer we were able to contact the owner who is in the Middle East- the only info we were given was "the key is under the mat"There was certainly no one on site. .
This place needs closing down and is a disgrace.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G
Halifax
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hell in wales”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Never have I read such fantastic reviews which I can only assume have been written thru rose tinted glasses.
Our party arrived to a scene of desolation and derelict buildings.
A red car greets u on bricks upon entering the courtyard with a derelict farmhouse and toilet block outbuilding surrounding the bunk house.
Derelict and unsafe wooden lodges are also unsafe for adventurous children.
No refuge point was identifiable for rubbish collection-my partner had to go searching for a bin receptacle!!!
Inside the bunkhouse the washing machine was broken, and had probably been for at least 2-3months.the cutlery drawer had a sign stating "open with care"!!
The living area rug was disgustingly filthy.the advert for the bunkhouse clearly stated wi-fi was available but definitely did not have this service.
Getting upstairs was extremely dangerous for the young and the older people in our group.
The bathroom Shower constantly leaked resulting in a very trickly morning wash experience.
Outside the wooden furniture was not fit for purpose as it was rotting away-the many potholes to the road surface led to a very muddy reception.
Overall we are very unhappy and feel that the pics used to advertise this property do not reflect the true scene of this run down delapidated cow shed!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely simple accommodation - beautiful location”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I used the Cefn Coed cottage as a base for a walking holiday. It is perfectly located in beautiful North Wales and a small scenic drive from Snowdon itself. The cottage was perfect for me a friends to stay in with comfy bunk beds and a large sociable kitchen/living room. The owners live on site and are friendly welcoming but also leave you to your own devices!
Only downside is one shower/toilet for the whole cottage - however a minor point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheresmeg...
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here on my stag weekend with 7 mates. Perfectly secluded meaning we could sit round the campfire and be as noisy as we wanted, disturbing no one. And when it got too cold we retreated into the cosy bunkhouse. All the facilities in the bunkhouse were spot on, and looked like it would comfortably accomodate a full house. The whole site is a bit of a work in progress, and we were a little apprehensive on our approach, but you can tell this place will be a massive hit when all the work is done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Slightly unsightly work in progress.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing