We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”

George III Hotel Restaurant
Price range: USD 13 - USD 28
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The George III Hotel is an historic Inn set on the banks of the magnificent Mawddach Estuary. Originally built in 1650 the hotel now offers comfortable rooms and home cooked food to locals and guests alike who all come to enjoy great home cooked classics in a relaxed atmosphere with stunning views. All of our food is cooked on site and so during busy times there can be a delay. We use a wide range of local produce from award winning local suppliers to provide tasty, comforting classic dishes. We are always happy to help so if you have any questions or would like to make a booking please do not hesitate to contact us.
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped here while doing the Mawddach Trail. What a fabulous place. The Landlord was extremely knowledgable about his beers, and the food menu was great.
The pub was really clean. Toilets were immaculate. All staff were friendly. Well worth a visit. We will definitely return.

2  Thank Paul-Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2018

we visited on Saturday night of BH weekend as able to walk from our hotel. Beautiful evening so we sat outside by the estuary as great location. We decided to ask about food & the guy in the downstairs bar was very offhand but we persevered & went upstairs where we greeted very warmly. The food was fine & just what we needed - nothing flashy but good, the people were also very friendly & the service was good. I am guessing reading other reviews that its just been taken over & thats why it wasnt packed on a hot sunny BH weekend. I wish the guys there all the luck as I am sure it will be a great business once they get sorted out. Would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rufuspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you so much for your review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. The gentleman in the cellar bar wouldnt have intended to be offhand, after a very long and very busy day we can get very tired.

This weekend was very busy with us operating at full capacity even though we deliberately limited numbers for dinner but we are happy to hear we were able to offer you a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We visited the George 3rd and stayed on a Friday night. The weather was glorious so we were very happy to be able to sit outside and enjoy the wonderful estuary views. We had nothing but polite, attentive and professional service the whole duration of our trip and the food was good quality, fresh and prompt. Admittedly, the place is looking very tired, but we were very excited to hear that the property will be taken over by Robinson's brewery who are planning to spend upwards of £2 million refurbishing this wonderful place beginning in September this year. As a northern girl I have seen the wonderful transformations of pubs by the Robinson's brewery and am very excited to see how they plan to update the pub. We also love the fact that The George 3rd accepts dogs in some rooms, the bar and of course the outdoor area and I do hope that continues with the new owners!
Here's to seeing the improvements in May next year!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are equally looking forward to the refurbishment at the end of the year.

We have seen no plans or have any idea how Robinsons plan to run the pub next year but we are sure dogs will still be welcome as they are at many of their other sites.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful little hotel / pub that sits in a spectacular site right on the edge of the estuary. It's one of the finest places to enjoy a drink outside on a summers day in the area.
I came here with a little trepidation having read some of the recent reviews - came here many years ago and stayed in the hotel and ate in the restaurant but wanted to enjoy the situation and see for myself.
First impressions - good welcome from bar staff upstairs and down and manager / manageress very polite and helpful. Beer perfectly good!
The sticking point here is that the menu as it stands is pretty uninspiring. Standard menu consists of burgers , fish and chips, pie ,
Curry, and a veg option, and maybe one more choice, can't remember precisely. The specials are chalked up on the board and are your steaks and chops etc, so didn't appear to be specials so much as what meat is in the fridge currently and can be fried or grilled.
We had burgers and fish and chips and as standard pub fare these were perfectly fine.
We were there on a BH weekend and my impression from a couple of visits in the past was that this place was pretty rammed on such a sunny evening , however tonight certainly the restaurant upstairs appeared half empty and presumably this is a consequence of recent negative reviews. Seems a great shame and slightly bemusing. Given its location and history it could be a very popular place, however it is crying out for an interesting and varied menu that is going to pull in the crowds and get return visits. I don't know if the managers / proprietors are hamstrung by the brewery over this or whether they need a chef with the ability to do this?

1  Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We have a small kitchen and a small kitchen team, so consequently restrict the number of diners we take to those that can be serviced within the time allowed. We could just take order after order but as in the past waiting times could then exceed 1 hour which we feel is unacceptable.

Our menu is an example of supply and demand. Burgers, Fish & Chips and Scampi are what our customers ask for so that's what we supply. We have had specials and other dishes on in the past but often these end up in the bin. We might explain to a customer that we have some lovely mussels from the north coast cooked to order in a fresh wild garlic sauce using wild garlic from the surrounding woodlands to be met with "that sounds lovely but I will have the pie please".


Our menu is our own and we will be swapping onto our summer menu in the near future, which will include some salads, pasta and fish dishes. We hope these will be more to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The food quality varies too much, in two nights quite a number of dishes were not available, which is not what one expects.
Whilst visiting the area each year we have always ate here for 7 to 10 nights, whilst we will probably make another suprise visit, standards have to be improved somewaht.

1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

When serving fresh food it is impossible to get quantities exactly right. Occasionally we will sell out of a dish and occasionally we will have to throw things away. Luckily our local suppliers deliver next day so we are never out of things for long. As our menu is more compact than previously we actually run out of dishes far less frequently than previously. We will soon be swapping to out summer menu so we hope you will pop in to try this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George III Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to George III Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing