We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Monmouth, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MillysTra...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a fantastic week here. The property is lovely, the pictures don't do it justice. Well equipped kitchen, spacious lounge with great fire, comfy bedrooms and nice bathrooms.
The outdoor space was lovely too. Great for kids to play and adults to relax.
The only downside for us were the wooden floors throughout make it quite a noisy building. Not a huge problem in itself but with a baby and toddler asleep, we had to manage noise in the evenings.
The owners live next door and were very friendly and helpful but not at all intrusive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyboys...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Easter break on a working farm in a home-from-home”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Two families meeting for an Easter break - four adults and four children aged 9-14. The barn conversion was high quality, warm, spacious and well-equipped. The owners lived next door and were friendly and accommodating without ever being intrusive. 'Farmer Ian' was patient with our inquisitive children, encouraging them to be involved when suitable, but also not afraid to tell them when they couldn't really be included. Obviously this time of year was perfect for the lambs and we were incredibly lucky with the weather - we'd packed wet weather gear but needed to buy shorts and sun cream! Lots of trips out to great attractions, but also enjoyed quiet days on the farm with the children happy to play outside until bedtime and the adults enjoying the sun trap garden and wood burner. A quiet, relaxing spot returning us rested and recharged for school on Monday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the children could run around completely safely and independently
Liked least: Kitchen equipment could be updated - but I'm being picky
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UncleBobC...
Conwy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable, warm house perfect for a winter break.”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We celebrated my husband's 60th birthday which our 2 sons had kindly paid for . We spent 3 nights at this beautiful barn conversion in the heart of Monmouthshire. The owners are really nice and basically let you get on with your stay. There was a generous welcome basket with farm produce which was a kind touch. On our first night we had forgotten to bring potatoes and when we knocked on their door they gave us half a sack of spuds! We were free to take our 2 young grandchildren to see the farm animals which they really enjoyed and there was plenty of room inside for them to run around. A couple of points to mention , the chopping knives were all very blunt and maybe a few large dishes for baking in the oven e.g a lasagne dish.. All in all a lovely property well worth a visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We hope that the birthday celebrations were good! Glad to see you enjoyed the welcome basket, and were even able to score some potatoes from the owners! We will pass on the feedback. Hope to see you back very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpgirl30
Mold, North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A lovely property but lacked equipment”
Reviewed 24 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for October half-term. The cottage was lovely, but there were certain things lacking. For example, in the kitchen there were things missing which we would have expected such as mixing bowls, food blender, lasagne dish. The saucepans were old fashioned enameled ones which we found difficult to cook with.
The downstairs shower wouldn't always switch off, so had to be switched off at the main switch by the door to the shower room. Also, there was no shower in the upstairs bathroom which would have been useful.
There were 8 of us staying, and we found it a squash to sit together on either of the tables while eating.
In the bedrooms, the pillows were flat and we only had one each, while there was only a bedside lamp on one side of the bed.
Also, we couldn't get the DVD player to work.
If the owners invested a little more thought and not much money in making a few improvements, the cottage would be a lovely place for a relaxing holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing