We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“As good as the reviews suggest”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brontes Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
view from the cottage
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Monmouth, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Addictedt...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As good as the reviews suggest”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our first stay in a holiday rental and really didn't know what to expect. It was also our first attempt at travelling and staying away from home with our 5 month old so were quite nervous about the whole thing!

The cottage is as good as the reviews suggest, it really is a lovely 'home from home'. Located in the quiet small village of Trellech, it is literally 5 miles away from Monmouth, about a 10 minute drive. It is easy enough to find with the directions given by the owner and keys are available via a key safe when you arrive at the property. Trellech itself is very small but has a lovely pub which is literally 3 minutes walk from the cottage.

The cottage itself is next to a farm with horses and chickens to be seen upon arrival, it has a wonderful feeling of being away from it all. There is a good amount of ground around the cottage, certainly enough for a job to enjoy or children to play, plenty of seating outside also with a BBQ for good measure! The cottage is fairly new I would say, certainly has the new feeling inside and out. All the rooms are very spacious, it would be perfect for hosting a get together or for travelling with friends or family. 2 showers in the property and one bath, one is ensuite to the main bedroom upstairs and the other is downstairs. Tea. coffee, sugar, washing up liquid, welsh cakes, scones, butter, all the essentials are provided, it really is ready to just arrive at!

We loved our stay and will most certainly be back, just wish we could have stayed a couple of days longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
50yearsyo...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway.”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a find! So peaceful with just the chickens and horses to chat to over the fence. Modern, clean, warm and welcoming, spacious, well equipped and comfy - I could go on. There is no fault to find at Brontes Cottage. The village is close by with a pub with great food within walking distance - although the lane is very dark for walking back in the winter months . Trellech is well placed to explore the stunning vistas and tourist spots of the Wye Valley and the Forest of Dean. We had a lovely weekend break and even the weather was kind.
Thanks, Emma!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the accommodation.
Liked least: The slope of the bedroom ceiling cut my tallish husband out a couple of times!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoeyjenki...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very dog and child friendly in an excellent quiet place”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The cottage it's self was lovely nice big rooms, home from home lots to see and do in surrounding areas and the scenery on dog walks were great!! No street lights so the evening sky was amazing and the amount of wild life we seen was great, there is enough garden for the dog to go out an wonder with woods just up the road, attractions not far away, we did Tredegar, raglan, chepstow castle and puzzlewood, the hamper was a nice touch on arrival

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stu4051
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every respect!”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a week away at Brontes Cottage. It was a faultless experience. Spotlessly clean. Very spacious, comfortable and well appointed - welcome basket was a most thoughtful touch. In fact I can't suggest anything which might be improved upon. Perfect for our children (teenager loved high speed internet) and the small dog was safe in the fully fenced and gated garden. Having spent many holidays in Cornwall, it represents good value too! It was our first visit to Wales and made an ideal base for day trips in the Wye valley and South Wales. So much to see a week wasn't long enough. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill K
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I am from Dubai and was in the uk to meet a friend from London (I feel you need a bit of a background from your reviewer). We wanted a cheap place to just walk around, chat and hang out at local pubs along the way.
Perfect.
Cottage was more than we could have dreamt. Rooms were beautiful and all amenities provided. Local pub was super welcoming and friendly. Emma have us lots of options of whee to walk to over a few beers at the local pub and somehow we remembered enough to have a lovely walk into tintern the next day. Would reccomend to anyone who is happy in a v quiet environment but luxurious accommodation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing