We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
286
52
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
286
52
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fillet steak cosy restaurant three course meal old jail owners and staff white company toiletries two nights friendly hotel cheese board warm welcome lovely room wonderful food cooked to perfection north wales local ingredients lovely atmosphere base for exploring
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fabulous menu - it was too difficult to choose so we had to book a second nights dinner to give the menu a decent appraisal. We booked early and were delighted to be shown to our table in the front room, complete with Harris tweed armchairs. A great start. I had the spicy lambs liver starter and the fish of the day. Followed by affogato - vanilla ice cream with a shot of brandy and a shot of fresh coffee. Yummy.
On our second visit we booked the same table and both opted for the best ever Welsh lamb.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Howard and thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind review, it was nice to see you both the first time but the second was just fantastic.
So glad you loved the armchairs; so many restaurants insist on you sitting on stiff bolt upright chairs as if you're a Victorian mannequin. We prefer armchairs that you can not only eat on but relax on and maybe sip a coffee with a nightcap afterwards, relaxed and chilled!
We look forward to welcoming you both again soon,
Marc, Nick and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Faultless - we cannot visit Dolgellau without eating at Y Merrionnydd Restaurant. 9 of us - all food absolutely superb. What we really love though is the service, we’d had a traumatic day climbing Cadair Idris and had to delay our arrival, they were so kind, and nothing was a problem, all of the staff without exception are friendly attentive but extremely professional.
I was very proud to bring my family here and they were all just blown away. Thank you

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Camper713155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Camper713155, WOW! what an amazing review, despite the drizzling rain outside this morning your review was a burst of sunshine for all of us!
So many of our guests, both in the hotel and the restaurant, return on a regular basis and it's always great for us to see. We know you had something of a 'trying' day so it was the least we could do to make sure the day ended well and you left us happy.
We really look forward to welcoming you all again in the future,
Best wishes,
Marc, Nick and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited last evening. We have been here many times before but not for a while. It never fails to delight.
Nick and Mark were having a well earned night off, but never the less we were greeted by name as we walked in. My rhubarb and ginger gin hit the spot nicely. The food, as always was just right with my fillet steak being the highlight. Washed down with a bottle of Chianti and enjoyed in a cosy restaurant, what more could you want...
Make sure you book ahead to enjoy an evening here

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephsearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

The food, service and ambience here is excellent, it is getting close to a top end restaurant but without the price tag. Couldn't fault anything from the reception on arrival to the house wine. One real star was the cheese board - outstanding. I can recommend here with no hesitation whatsoever.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Toby_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

This place is located in the heart of the town and provides very good accommodation. Each room has been very well appointed and has great finishing touches.

The food at breakfast and in the evening was ok and verging on very good. In the evening each main element was well cooked however more thought is needed to how the different elements on the plate come together.

As said above the rooms are very good but a few elements just need a tweak - housekeeping really. A few examples - no spare toilet rolls or soap, a VERY squeaky door recognised on check in but at the end of the 3 night stay no change, a loose toilet seat and decaf coffee pouches ok for a machine but they’re not coffee bags!!

Overall a good place that with tweaks can be very good.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Huw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews
<