We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for outdoor activities”
Review of Bikers Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolgellau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bikers Retreat
Ranked #15 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Stayed with a group of motorcyclists from Kent. The accommodation was basic but sound; plenty of hot water for showers and a good breakfast plus an evening meal one night. There is a small bar and outdoor seating area. There was covered accommodation for the bikes. Location is perfect, just off the main roads north, south and to the coast. Only downside for me was that the owner's dogs roamed free and I am not a dog lover. It would be ideal for motorcycling, cycling and walking - Nigel, the owner, has a great deal of local knowledge and can suggest great routes to follow.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building have better views than the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank masterbrew2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne B, Owner at Bikers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate that not everyone is a dog lover and try to keep them away in those situations. We can only apologise that this didn't happen when you were here. Please make sure we know if you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017

Stayed for a long weekend and had a fantastic time, comfortable rooms, good food and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful, we had friends camping up the road and Nigel and Tiv were more than happy to accommodate them at breakfast time before our rides out. Highly recommend Bikers Retreat to anyone wanting a base to explore the beautiful surrounding area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne B, Owner at Bikers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Great place to ride the Welsh roads, and easy access to all the local beauty spots, comfy rooms, hot showers and a hearty breakfast. Owners are super friendly and helpful. We rode out locally one day,and picked up tips on the best roads and places to go.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne B, Owner at Bikers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

A good place to sleep with very comfortable beds and all the amenities you need. Service and banter from the host is great. Nigel makes you feel welcome from the moment he greets you as you arrive on the bike to the moment you depart. Nothing fancy but everything works and is clean. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there for 2 nights and would recommend to any bikers looking for a great base to explore this biking nirvana that is Wales. With Nigel's and Tiv's help you will get to ride some awesome roads and see some great sites.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calvin968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I booked this hotel after looking for a place that had decent storage for motorcycles. And to be honest I wasn't very impressed when I got to the front door as it seemed a little forgotten.

But from the moment I set my foot in I was well looked after. Tiv and Nigel are fantastic hosts, the breakfast was excellent and shower was perfect. Your not staying at the Ritz but it does exactly what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
2 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
2.9 km away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
1 km away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llanelltyd
243 reviews
5 km away
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
5.6 km away
Heulwen Guest House
Heulwen Guest House
#1 of 1 in Llanfachreth
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bikers Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bikers Retreat

Address: Barmouth Road, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: $62 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Granite house with modern annexe, catering for up ro 18 people. Spectacular views over the Mawddach Estuary and up to Cadair Idris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bikers Retreat Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing