We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
76
134
44
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
134
44
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alfa travel alfa coach castle view entertainment room entertainment every night leisureplex hotels chef's specials vegetarian options large comfortable room high street waiters waitresses half board each evening coach party good points lovely shower table service
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Hubby and myself are just back from a 5 day break to the George 1v hotel 5th to the 9th Sept with Alfa coach holidays A fab hotel lovely food with really lovely staff Also a big thank you to our coach driver Brian who was brilliant

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank poppyPrestonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We spent a week in the George IV hotel in Criccieth with Alfa and toured the area during that week. We visited Portmerion, Pwllheli, took the train from Portmadog to Ffestiniog and also took the train up to the summit of Mount Snowdon. The scenery in that part of the world is magnificent.
We arrived at the hotel about 1830 and were given the keys to room 219 on the second floor. We were allocated table 17 in the dining room with breakfast at 0840 and dinner at 1840. We had to go to dinner straight away.
The weeks menu is on the table, this is usual with Leisureplex hotels, and for dinner provides several starters, main courses and desserts as well as a chefs special each day. They also make salads to order and have vegetarian options. At breakfast they usually ask what main course you would like for dinner. Breakfast is a choice of self serve cereals, apart from porridge which is table served, a full English as well as cold food and tea and coffee. The coffee wasn't too bad. They only have toast at breakfast. The service was very good.
WiFi is only available on the ground floor.
Room 219 is a nice size with a double bed, wardrobe, lots of storage drawers, two chairs, a flat screen television, a shower cubicle with removable shower head, lots of hot water
and some toiletries.
There was entertainment on some evenings.
Its just a few minutes walk to the beach and there is a nice promenade for a walk
after dinner.
It is a nice quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

The George IV is a large hotel in an impressive building, convenient for town, castle and beach. Parking is convenient and check-in easy. The room was clean and comfortable and when I mentioned the room being a little cold an extra heater was supplied immediately. The restaurant is very large and seemed full with a coach party (I'm a pensioner but I felt young).

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vigorouskingslynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night to visit Cricceith and some towns close by, the location is perfect for that. There's a small carpark opposite which is very handy.The room was nice and clean, staff were friendly and helpful :)

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We spent four days and three nights at the George. We had stayed here previously 8 or 9 years before, and found it just as convenient as before. While there are a few stairs to the lobby, there is a small wheelchair lift, and all floors are serviced by the main lift.

Some of the hallways are a bit narrow for a wheelchair to navigate, and there are several fire doors as well. But we managed to get access to all areas we needed.

Our room was basic, and in need of some renovation, but functional, comfortable, and suited our purposes. The shower had good pressure, and there was sufficient hot water for a good bath as well. The mattress was a bit overly firm, but we doubled the duvet to pad it out.

Housekeeping came each day to change towels, empty bins, and make the bed, but only changed bed linen if there was a "obvious need" for it. We did query this, and were brought fresh linen.

Meals for the half board were good, and followed a set rotation. Same offerings each Monday, etc. Breakfast was buffet for the Continental portions (cereal, etc) and cooked options were ordered at the table.

WiFi was available in some public areas, but was weak. No connection was found in our room, at all. Fair enough it wasn't advertised as such.

Many of the guests were part of coach tours, and the hotel seems to make a good business of this arrangement.

The location in Criccieth is good, and there is parking for guests opposite the hotel on the High Street. It is a good base of operations as well for visiting Portmeirion, Porthmadog, and Anglesey.

I usually site the room number in my reviews, but will not on this occasion, as I also noted there was no window latch on the bedroom window so it was accessible from the outside to anyone wishing to open it.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank padreray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews