We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just arrived home from our second visit to Gwenddwr and once again we had a wonderful time. We cannot fault this B and B at all, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are made to feel very welcome by Sue the owner. The room we stayed in is beautiful, everything you need is provided even a little sewing kit! If you need anything Sue is there to help, even put our ice packs in her freezer. The breakfast once again was stunnng, every morning homemade fruit salad and granola to go with your full welsh breakfast. Sue will now provide an evening meal if you require one and give her notice. We had a wonderful roast dinner wth homemade chocolate cake for dessert. The view from the bedroom window is wonderful and its a very short walk to the beach. I cannot wait to return and I hope it will be very soon.

Room tip: Gwenddwr has two rooms, one is slightly smaller so therefore cheaper but no matter what room you choose the service you get is exactly the same.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just came back from a weekend break. Food hygiene rating shown on window is 5. I think the person who came to rate it would have wanted to give it a higher score if poss. The standard here is amazing. There are other Hotels when it comes to choosing places to stay, and other B&B's. But I totally recommend here. I can't fault it at all. The location was easy to find, and easy walk to everything. The views are amazing from the bedroom and the breakfast room. Full view of beach and castle - breathtaking. The actual house is clean, spacious, modern, simple, warm and cozy - yet not stifling. Sue the owner, was fantastic. Her attention to detail was brilliant. Simple things like just a few fresh cut flowers that were changed daily on the breakfast table and the room being totally cleaned top to toe every day with fresh towels on a hot towel rail etc...really made it lovely. She was very relaxed about times we could have breakfast and offered a huge variety of menu. The eggs were sourced locally from free range farm and were lovely. Sue was a fountain of knowledge if you required anything, but did not intrude on our stay at all. Infact, it felt like an independant stay totally, not like we were really staying in some one else's house. We had our own key etc, and could come and go as we liked. During our stay we visited a few castles and portmerion, we were worn out by the end of the day and in fairly early after eating in the local pub and had a few drinks out. Don't let the fact that there is a train crossing near put you off. I don't think I heard a train at all. We saw one once. In our room, we had TV and hairdryer and lovely shower ensuite, tea and coffee making stuff, all of it was good quality and all of the decor was in great taste. This B&B is good value for money. The breakfast alone set us up for the day ahead. Sue is an excellent host.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We arrived for a 4 night stay for Easter. Had the warmest welcome including a plate of hot welshcakes. Had a large room overlooking the esplanade and castle.Ensuite was fabulous. Had a hearty breakfast every morning including home made granola. Sue was the perfect hostess. Cant wait to go back and stay.

Date of stay: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neryswlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here earlier this year and enjoyed our stay a great deal. We chose the smaller of the rooms, but it was a lovely en-suite with some of the best views of Criccieth and the castle.
Sue (the owner) was a great host, with a lovely pot of tea and welsh cakes served on arrival. The breakfasts were fantastic, served at a time of our choice and with great variety. I went for the Full Welsh each day, but sampled the very good quality alternatives. The in-room refreshments were also replenished often.
This is a lovely quiet house a short and pleasant walk away from the town centre, with ample parking.
There is lots to do in the area. One hidden gem is the Brynkir Woollen Mill a few miles north of Criccieth, a working mill with great sounds and smells of the machines at work. You walk through the mill up to a sales room at the top of the building where excellent quality blankets etc can be purchased.

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

From the moment we arrived at Gwenddwr the welcome was wonderful! This B and B only has two rooms and we chose the larger room at £60 per night. Sue (the owner) showed us to our room then brought us some lovely fresh welsh cakes and some fresh milk for a nice cuppa before we unpacked. The room was beautiful, everything was spotless and had a lovely attention to detail. The view of the sea and Criccieth Castle was wonderful. A small level crossing is nearby but the 4 days we were there we never heard a thing! We then went to sign in and Sue asked us what time we would prefer to have breakfast and what we would like. The choice was wonderful, we had fresh fruit salad ( made fresh by Sue every day) and home made granola which was the best I'd ever had! Then we had a full welsh breakfast with all the trimmings. Sue doesnt believe in little packets of UHT milk so fresh milk was brought to you when you wanted it, you put your empty container outside the door and as if by magic it had been refilled! If you are looking for a small B and B with beautiful rooms, a beautiful view and an owner that is friendly and nothing is too much trouble for then this is the B and B for you! We will definately be returning in the future and I will be recommending it to all my friends.

Kaz and Alan Bluett

Room tip: Only has two rooms but they are beautiful and both have a sea view.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews