We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
232
55
27
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
232
55
27
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin bar the hotel manager roaring fire beautiful hotel deluxe room lovely grounds huge bed for sunday lunch dining room staff were attentive north wales on arrival evening meal pudding lamb wine list highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Spent four days at the Bron Eifion to spend time with family who had hired a house in Criccieth for a week.

Generally very impressed- the hotel is set in lovely grounds with a view over the sea. The building and grounds are well maintained, and as we enjoyed good weather during our stay we were able to have drinks in the very pleasant outdoor seating area.

The decor in our room was very tasteful and both it and the bathroom were immaculate. There was also more than enough clothes storage space. The bathroom itself was a good size with adequate shelving areas, though the shower seemed to lack water pressure.

We had breakfast every day and generally the food was very good. However my only criticism would be how the breakfast is organised- this involves the waiter coming back and forth to take orders and deliver food which can lead to delays when a number of tables are in use. Additionally the restaurant is rectangle shape with the kitchen at the far end, meaning long journeys for the waiter which brought to mind Victoria Wood's "Two Soups" sketch! Surely it would be easier to have cereals, juices etc. available from a buffet with orders only required for tea and coffee and hot food?

Overall however we were very happy with our visit and would recommend the hotel- it is not the cheapest place to stay in the Criccieth area but it is certainly good value for money.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank mcgill73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

A wonderful setting with splendid public rooms and comfortable bedrooms. Bathrooms a bit dated but it is a country house hotel!
Management seems to be lacking especially in the dining room. The staff do their best but are let down by poor cooking and supply issues.
Not quite what is cracked up to be.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 17marcopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Stayed an extra 2 nights when attending a family wedding - it was one of my better decisions, the room was excellent so was the service. The wedding meals were very good so were the two evening meals - one of the duck meals was particularly outstanding

Room Tip: Ask foe sea view
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

We visited the hotel as non residents for dinner and were happy we did. The building and gardens are beautiful and we would love to come back and stay when it's a bit quieter. The service was friendly and the food was great. Really good value too. We also tried some of the gin from the gin bar and were pleasantly surprised as none of us are gin drinkers. Marie is a fabulous host and very accommodating if you need anything. If you get the chance then come for a visit. I plan to get lost in the gardens with a book in the future.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank trae493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

My wife & I recently had a three night stay at the Bron Eifion hotel, whilst attending our nephews wedding. We arrived on Friday 12th August & were warmly greeted at reception. My wife is blind & has a Guide dog, Gemma, so to be greeted like this doesn’t happen at all hotels. They gave us a ground floor room with plenty of space & amenities, as well as access to our room from the hotel we also had our own front door, from which we could take Gemma out for exercise. On check in we asked where we could exercise her & were told that the entire grounds of the hotel were at our disposal.
The wedding reception was held on the Saturday, & was very well organised, with delicious food, served hot & plentiful, & extra nice to be able to sit outside in the sun.
All staff from reception, bar staff, room service, & waiters/waitresses were extremely polite, helpful & thoughtful, bringing a bowl of water for Gemma at breakfast without being asked.
The hotel & grounds were immaculate, & made our trip feel that little bit extra special. We will be returning there for a second stay very soon without a doubt.

Room Tip: We stopped in the ground floor & had no noise.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews