We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
44
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely location ffestiniog railway little touches plenty of parking criccieth castle north wales sally apartment accommodation break sea bedroom toiletries peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

A lovely well appointed apartment in Criccieth. Bedroom, bathroom, lounge area and kitchen. A welcome of tea etc. and a loaf of Bara Brith. The apartment faces Criccieth Castle with plenty of parking outside. Well placed for a 10 minute walk to the High Street where there are several very good restaurants. Little touches like a supply of games and toiletries were welcome extras. Criccieth is well placed for tourin North Wales and the peninsular. Porthmadog and the Ffestiniog Railway are a short drive away.

Room tip: We had a room 2 on the first floor with a large bay window overlooking the castle.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank peter_richardson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We stayed in Apartment 2 on the first floor with a spectacular view of the castle from the front window and a view of the sea to the right.The apartment was so homely and comfortable, with everything you need provided.The view from up the castle is lovely and well worth the £5 for adults.The Castle fishnchips are well worth queuing for at peak times.We visited many local places ie.Abersoch,Port Merion,Black rock sands, but we also enjoyed Criccieth itself with its lovely promenade walks and relaxing atmosphere.Sally was very helpful and easy to talk to and we would like very much to return again soon , wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room tip: More suited to couples.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CarolynandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally h, Owner at Ty'n y Gwynt, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I have stayed in many hotels, ranging from basic budget, to 5 star south kensington luxury hotels, but this is by far the best I've stayed in. The owner was great and went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. The rooms where immaculate and with a full living room, fully working kitchen including oven and hob and on-suite bathroom, it was easy to just relax after a long journey.

What was even better was the view of Criccieth castle outside out window, quite literally on our doorstep.

I highly recommend this incredible hotel.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally h, Owner at Ty'n y Gwynt, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

thank you so much.. hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We booked here for 3 days in February. Sally the owner was very friendly and chatty. We were given the self catering apartment on the top floor and tea, coffee and milk and biscuits as a welcome. The room had amazing views and was very well kitted out with everything you would need. From one window you can see the castle on the hill (just over the road) and from another was the sea...beautiful! The bedroom was comfortable with enough space and a lovely en suite and shower, and added touches of nice toiletries.
We found a very friendly pub not too far away called the Station and chatted to locals and people on holiday like us.
We had a wonderful walk to Portmeirion and got the train back as it was getting late! We had a walk up to the castle where there are lovely views and took lots of pictures.
We took advantage of the local butchers and bakers and cooked our meals in the room. A fabulous stay. Can't wait to return some time. Good value for money and a perfect place for a romantic break.

Room tip: Loved the top floor room! Great views to die for!
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank finch8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally h, Owner at Ty'n y Gwynt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Only just seen your comments, thank you so much that's really good of you. So glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you again. Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

The apartment is stunning. We visited for my partners Birthday and spent five days in Criccieth. Sally was a wonderful host . The apartment was beautiful. Everything you would need for a self catering break was there and the furnishings were beautiful. The view from the lounge was the Castle and from the kitchen you could see the sea. The accommodation was spotless with a lovely relaxing feel to the place. Booked again !

Room tip: The top floor apartment has a comfy double bed and offers fantastic views.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally h, Owner at Ty'n y Gwynt, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

thank you for your lovely review. See you in April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews