We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
48
10
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
10
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners homemade shortbread sunday lunch golf course tea and coffee facilities kippers great place to stay perfect location room was spotless two nights first class warm welcome ian doggy trimmings ales castle
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Stayed in room 6 which was spacious and light having dual aspect windows. Two comfortable chairs and a table was good. Very comfortable bed. Had a great nights sleep and little noise from the road outside. Small but adequate bathroom with bath and shower over. Room was very clean and home made shortbread was a lovely touch in the room. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked to order. Staff were pleasant. The staff member serving breakfast on our first morning was so friendly and customer focused. Nothing was too much trouble and he really stood out from all the other staff. I know he was from Liverpool and was a credit to the place. We ate in the restaurant on one evening the food and service was good. In a convenient location with on site parking and a pleasant bar with good range of beers and wines.

Room Tip: Room 6 very light and with a table and two chiars.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoogieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ybranwen, Owner at Y branwen hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review.
We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Y branwen.
I will pass on your comments to the staff and we hope to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Ian and Rohan are fabulous owners who stop at nothing to help. The bar and restaurant area are beautifully designed and decorated and the rooms comfortable: once they have been given the design flair once over Ian and Rohan clearly have they will be even better.

Our car broke down on departure and they could not have been kinder, bringing us coffees, keeping up our spirits as we had the interminable wait for roadside assistance, and letting us use the phone as we didn’t have much reception on our mobiles.

Can’t recommend this place highly enough: next time we will come to just stay there, enjoy the restaurant and bar and have a really relaxing break.

Thank you!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Etumelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ybranwen, Owner at Y branwen hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for the lovely feedback.
We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Y branwen.
We hope that you managed to get your car sorted out and that you made it home ok.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing break and that there are no further car issues!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

This is probably the best place in the local area to eat and/ or drink. The food was excellent and the bar area was really nice with a lovely atmosphere.

The rooms were lovely and the brekkie was great and freshly cooked with a veggie option.

The owners and staff were really friendly and helpful and the location was great at the bottom of the town near to the beach.

I understand it has been recently totally refurbished by the new owners and they have done a great job.

It's a great place and was a good find. Would certainly like to stay, eat and drink there again and this is such a lovely part of the world. I thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaintedLadyHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ybranwen, Owner at Y branwen hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review.
We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Y branwen in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely two nights at this great establishment, staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome, Winston the dog had his first holiday in Wales and was treated like royalty!!
In-between the beach and castle its a perfect location, food was off the charts.
Looking forward to coming back to see the new look rooms.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ybranwen, Owner at Y branwen hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review David.
We’re especially pleased that Winston enjoyed his first holiday in Wales.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

What a lovely find! When we arrived we were greeted by smiling friendly staff. From our room (5) we could see the castle. The bed was very comfy ( makes a change from a lot of places stayed). The bathroom was small but had everything you needed and the shower was great, kept its power and temperature again a great plus! The restaurant had a good selection of dishes with locally sourced ingredients, something we look for when travelling. The staff were very helpful with advice on places to visit. There was nothing negative about our visit, we will definitely be back if we are ever in that area again. Thank you

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ybranwen, Owner at Y branwen hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review Michaela.
We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Y branwen.
We hope to welcome you back to one of our newly refurbished rooms in the very near future...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews