We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Base to explore North Wales”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 58 y Waun

Harlech Beach come and enjoy four miles of golden sand.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harlech Beach come and enjoy four miles of golden sand.
Mount Snowdon Harlech high street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Harlech Beach come and enjoy four miles of golden sand.
Mount Snowdon
Harlech high street
Royal St Davids Golf Club
A view of the town from the castle
Llew glas square in the town
Sunset at Harlech beach July 2013
A view of the castle from above the town
Donkey rides at Barmouth beach 9 miles south
Barmouth harbour and the mawddach estuary
Eco built timber house very warm and comfortable
Dining room for 6.
Breakfast bar with digital TV and microwave for those cold cupas
Kitchen with fridge/freezer, cooker and tumble dryer.
New bathroom with power shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
P_Ella_M
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cosy Base to explore North Wales”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My family and I had a wonderful stay at 58 y Waun. We received a warm welcome from Gwyn, the owner, who gave us a tour of the house and left some goodies in the fridge!
The cottage itself is great - very cosy with all amenities, set just underneath Harlech Castle.

Harlech itself was lovely and quaint, with a phenomenal beach. We were also 20 minutes from Barmouth and Porthmadog.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Such a pleasure to have a charming family to stay at the house, hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Glad you had a good time, hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Samantha...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Friendly reception, well kitted house, great location”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Gwyn was lovely - met us at the property on the day we arrived, at a time which suited us and even left a couple of welcome treats there too. He also mentioned that he lives just a couple of minutes away so if we needed anything, he could help.

Very spacious house, 3 good sized double bedrooms, enough crockery to sink a battleship and a decent modern oven and hob. It was very clean and felt homely - we settled right in, as did our dog. (Who incidentally also received a very warm welcome)

The house had everything we needed and is in a good location so you can walk to the restaurants / castle in Harlech and it's also easy to hop on the road to explore further afield. The beach is ~15 minutes walk by the time you get there but it's a pleasant walk and a lovely beach - perfect for our dog to chase after her tennis ball for her morning exercise :-)

The only criticism of the house we have is that for us, the garden isn't dog-proof which we had hoped it would be from other reviews. Our little lady is dog-reactive and very springy so she'd easily hop over the fence and have her face in another dog's face if she wanted to. For people however, the garden is a decent size if you wanted to have a BBQ or something.

We had a fantastic holiday and I'd recommend this house as a base for anyone who wants some space and somewhere to relax after a day's exploring. Great value for money!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
I'm so glad that you had a great time.
Gwyn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gipanny
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“An enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a wonderful time staying at the cottage and going out everyday to Portmadoc, Harlech castle, Portmeirion, Barmouth, and returning to have dinner in either the front or back garden. Glyn was very warm and helpful and we really appreciated his welcome pack of milk, wine and delicious bara brith.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
I'm glad you had a great time, hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great location, and welcome. Good food locally if wanted but catering facilities were good in this property. Wonderful scenery all around within the locality and further afield.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome and good facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
So glad that you had a great time here in Harlech.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing