We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I wish this was my house!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garth Mawr

Front of house from large lawned garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house from large lawned garden
Stunning views from garden across estuary to Snowdon Wonderful Harlech Castle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Front of house from large lawned garden
Stunning views from garden across estuary to Snowdon
Wonderful Harlech Castle
Warm lounge with log huge fire place
Spectacular walking at Snowdon
White water rafting at the National Water Sport Centre at Bala
Horse riding in Snowdonia
Spectacular Nefyn golf course
Golf at top rated Royal St Davids
Go Ape in the tree tops at Coed-y-Brenin
Front of house from drive
View over back garden to hills
View from hil top, showing Garth Mawr is splendidly 'away from it all'
Dining room
Newly fitted kitchen with 8 hob range
Family bathroom
Downstairs double (which has ensuite and sun room, with fantsatic views to Snowdon)
Upstairs double (which has ensuite)
Bunk bed room - for the kids
Twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gillykms
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wish this was my house!”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Garth Mawr for a group of 30-somethings as a long overdue 10 year reunion of friends.

The setting is absolutely beautiful. Amazing views from the house. Sheep just outside the backdoor and a fantastic garden. The layout of the house and the separate dining room, snug and utility room along with the amount of toilets and showers made the house feel very big and there was plenty of space to get away from each other if we needed it! The kitchen was really well equipped with cooking equipment, crockery, cutlery, etc and the big dining room table can sit 8 people.

There are lots of books, videos and board games in the house. You wouldn't need to leave the house if you didn't want to! Whilst in the area we visited Harlech Castle & Beach, Portmerrion, Zipworld Slate Caverns. The rest of the time we spent just enjoying the surroundings of the house and enjoying the lovely open fire in the evenings.

I ordered a Tesco delivery to the house. The driver called me to say they were a little lost so I walked down the lane to meet them and they managed to drive the whole way up to the house. The lane is the only thing to mention, if you have a large car or aren't a confident driver then it may feel a bit tight but we managed to get a Hyundai i800 8-person minivan up & down it over 4 days with just a little guidance from the passengers sticking their heads out the window to direct so it can be done!

I would definitely recommend Garth Mawr as a wonderful place to holiday and would be more than happy to return again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thanks very much - really glad you enjoyed your stay! Come again.
Graham
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant rural stay at authentic farm cottage”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Long weekend in March with extended family.

Before leaving Graham (the owner) was very helpful and easily contactable to enable us to plan our trip.

The cottage location is up narrow lanes and via farm gates but with careful driving can be reached without much fuss. We ordered a tesco online shop which we collected only 5mins drive from the cottage (because of the limited access for vans and it was dark at the time).

The cottage has a garage for one car and a driveway for one more. The cottage has a lovely, large kitchen with all the necessary pots&pans, cutlery etc for cooking large meals with. The fireplace was a particular favourite for cosy nights after a long days walking. The views and grounds of the cottage are spectacular. Lots of board game choice already in the cottage as well as misc videos and dvds.

Only 15mins downhill walk to Harlech village which is very pleasant (castle, shops, cafes, restaurants & pubs) with train station, golf course, sand dunes and beaches further afield (but still within walking distance, approx 30mins from village centre).

Soul foods (Caribbean restaurant) in Harlech was excellent (most enjoyed by those who enjoy spicy food).

Portmeirion can be seen from the cottage (over the estuary) and is approx 20mins drive - highly recommended for a 1/2 day visit (probably not enough there to spend a whole day) N.B. check entry prices online first for discounts

Only very minor other points to note - there are frequent steps between rooms in the house and some low doors (all understandable given the building age) but be careful, the garage door is a little temperamental and sheep in close proximity!

A perfect, peaceful, fun getaway in Wales. Highly recommend the cottage, we would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thanks very much for the review and its great to hear you enjoyed your stay. You can come again! Graham
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RJM986
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Scenic and serene!”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We loved our stay at Garth Mawr, despite some rather grim weather. The cottage is in an absolutely beautiful location, perched on top of a hill with fab sea views. Better still, the master bedroom has a little sun room where you can look out over the coast. The cottage is fully equipped and very snug with a real log fire in case of rain. We were pleasantly surprised to be greeted with a warm welcome note and bottle of delicious red wine. Delighted to discover that despite the cottage being accessed via a farm track, Tesco are able to deliver to your door; good for longer stays/fussy eaters as the local Spar in Harlech is fairly small. Lots of great walks and activities nearby. You may never want to leave; we didn't!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walk31
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing cottage!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage was lovely! Great base for walking around the area and the view from the cottage was the best we had seen in Wales! The cottage had everything that we needed for our weeks stay with our 3 boys and our parents. So much to do around the Harlech area and what amazing beaches! Clean white sand and blue sea. We will be back again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing