We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay on the Gwynedd coast”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful Wales Holiday barns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Wales Holiday barns
Penty Mochyn BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Beautiful Wales Holiday barns
Penty Mochyn
BBQ
King Sized Beds
Stunning sunsets most evenings.
Full sied single beds
Main Bedroom
Spa Bath
Artists impression
Lounge
Penty Mochyn view from lounge
Llanaber Beach
Bedroom
Free range ducks and chickens
Patio area at the back with BBQ, sun loungers and picnic bench.
Private gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanaber, Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
skegby
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely stay on the Gwynedd coast”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this 5 day break as a treat for my daughter who's birthday fell on Easter Monday. Wanting somewhere that was pet friendly and with sea views this seemed perfect. We arrived at 4pm to be greeted by the owner with our keycard and a quick show round. It looks every bit as good as the pictures...

It's an upside down house so the front door leads into the double bedroom and then through to the bathroom, twin bedroom and then upstairs to the lounge/kitchen/diner with those amazing views. As the property is on a steep slope you can also go round the back to private courtyard garden and in through a back door directly into the kitchen. Everything is very clean and well furnished and you have all the appliances you need.

I'd arranged for a Tesco grocery delivery that evening which is worthwhile as the supermarkets in Barmouth are a bit limited and parking is not so easy.

The small 'Farm' has horses, sheep, chickens (free eggs!) two very funny Indian runner ducks and a couple of friendly dogs and cats. We are very much animal lovers so this was ideal for us, the cats even came in for lap to curl up in the evenings! This is of course not compulsory but worth bearing in mind if you are fussy about animals, just keep the gate closed and they won't bother you.

The location is ideal for exploring Snowdonia, we were lucky with the weather and had a few days on the beach as well as beach horse riding over at Fairbourn over the estuary and trip to Harlech castle.

A couple of tips not criticisms:
The front door is small so if you are tall DUCK! My wife didn't and cracked her head.
The oven is not a fan oven and the grill is a bit lame but I soon adapted my cooking to suit.
No mobile phone signal in the barn (walls are 3 foot thick!) but WiFi excellent

I would definitely recommend Penty Mochyn for animal loving families who want amazing views, great beeches and easy access to Snowdonia...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tine B
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in this wonderful cottage. We stayed with 2 children and 1 infant (previously checked with owner) and still the cottage was large enough. The cottage is very clean, well equipped and the hosts are extremely friendly. (A week after our holiday they immediately looked for our keys when we couldn't find them!) We really felt at ease. Going to sleep was a bit hard, because we couldn't even for a night say goodbye to the astonishing sea view from the first floor. Our children had a great time, not only by looking at the sea, but also by looking at all the different animals. They could even take care of the chickens, which was a challenging experience to them. North Wales offers a lot of things to do, so we'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea view
Liked least: Leaving the sea view behind
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, which we really appreciate. I'm glad you had a great time and thank you for looking after the chickens!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breezypup...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfectly peaceful”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned from 5 days at this wonderful little cottage. We were blessed with good weather, but this place was so comfortable with everything we needed, regardless if the weather! our party consisted of myself, my partner my elderly mom and our two dogs. So on the days we went off with the dogs, mom had everything she needed to entertain herself, and most importantly she was safe and comfortable.
So much to do and see in the area, one mile from Barmouth so couple of beers and lovely walk home along the beach, yet not to close!
The chickens and ducks were great, very friendly, and the sheep made friends with our dogs, clearly used to visitors.
The fresh flowers were a lovely, a welcoming touch. As was the wine!!!
I was a little surprised to read negative comments on this cottage, I can only say that all the information is there on the website, it's a wonderful find and if you love animals book it. The amenities are a very high standard, coupled with a location to die for, unbelievable sea views, If that's not your cup of tea don't go there and complain!!!! We loved it. Thank you Jan and Mick x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lozlock
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

we have stayed in many cottages up and down the uk over the years with our dog, unfortunately we would not rate this property as 5 star. the place felt like it needed a bit more attention in terms of a thorough clean, particularly the floors and it lacked some of the finer details that we have been used to in the past i.e there was no coffee or sugar (only packet sugar sachets from costa coffee and mcdonalds), no kitchen towels, no bread ( we have been left bread and cakes in a few of our previous rental properties ). the chickens whilst completely harmless were a bit of a pain (there was a coop in our back garden) and whilst our dog is extremely friendly, he didnt settle for a good while after we had arrived and we had no option but to leave the back door open leading into the garden as it was an extremely hot day. there are no windows on the upper floor where the open plan lounge and kitchen are (only a small velux ) so we managed to find a small fence and leant that by the back door so our dog wouldnt go out to chase the chickens. the gate from the back garden leading to the yard had a gap under it that our dog definitely could have got under if he really wanted to,he is of medium size so i feel this needs addressing for future particularly if owners have smaller dogs.
on the positive side it was refreshing that the tv was quite large as most cottages tend to only small ones. the toilet flush was broken for our first night but the owner kindly travelled to get a new one the next day and fixed it whilst we were exploring the local areas. the owners are friendly aswell as all their animals. the views across the sea are lovely and we were blessed with terrific weather! we took a trip into nearby harlech, treath beach and porthmadog over our 2 night stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
We all have different ways of treating our guests. You have previously been treated with bread, cake and kitchen roll, but we choose to treat with fresh flowers, boiled sweets, toffees, tin foil, dishwasher tablets and cling film. Freebies are freebies!
In our advertising, it does clearly state that dogs should be on a lead at all times, due to the free roaming animals. Most people love helping themselves to the free eggs and feeding the chickens, so we had no idea you didn't like them. We could have moved the chickens if you'd have mentioned it - we can't do anything if we don't know!

We work hard to try to make holidays enjoyable and I'm sorry that something got missed with the cleaning. I would have been happy to put it right, if you'd have said.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisandS...
Bury. Lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accomodation, ideal to take the Grandchildren”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit to Penty Mochin and second with my Grandchildren. It`s a beautiful peaceful retreat to visit and explore the area.....or just gaze out of the window at the lovely views and amazing sunsets. We only realised before leaving that we never switched the TV on.....just not necessary !
Jan and Mick are brilliant hosts and make sure you have everything you need. We just chilled out, and the beds are the most comfortable I`ve found in any cottage stay I`ve had. The cottage is clean and well kept with everything you need.....and more. There are chickens at the back providing daily eggs and keeping the children busy `looking after` them. The children really miss them now ! There`s WiFi for the kids `social networking` (a necessity apparently !!) We had a brilliant week and sunshine too with lovely beaches just a stroll away. We all loved it and hope to be back again. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It`s so relaxing just looking out of the window, Soon wound down.
Liked least: There`s nothing that any of us disliked, except Aidan had to leave the chickens behind....!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing