We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ooooh la la Steak Frites , tres bien!”
Review of Steak Frites

Steak Frites
Ranked #4 of 88 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 22 - USD 22
Description: Steak Frites! is a steakhouse that provides a unique dining experience Inspired by the spirit of old Parisian brasseries, we offer a simple menu where diners enjoy JUST ONE DISH: a green salad and walnuts with mustard vinaigrette followed by steak frites served with a béarnaise sauce made according to Steak Frites!'s secret recipe. With this simple offering, prompt service and informal atmosphere, Steak Frites is an ideal place to enjoy a quick and inexpensive meal with friends, family and colleagues.
Restaurant details
Description: Steak Frites! is a steakhouse that provides a unique dining experience Inspired by the spirit of old Parisian brasseries, we offer a simple menu where diners enjoy JUST ONE DISH: a green salad and walnuts with mustard vinaigrette followed by steak frites served with a béarnaise sauce made according to Steak Frites!'s secret recipe. With this simple offering, prompt service and informal atmosphere, Steak Frites is an ideal place to enjoy a quick and inexpensive meal with friends, family and colleagues.
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Steak - melt in the mouth, cooked perfectly to my liking and really juicy
Service - fantastic, welcoming, friendly, attentive , flawless
Choice of beers - okay but could do with some real ales or draughts but waiter explained this is to come
Loved the salad accompaniment so tasty, loved the sauces, loved the chips!
Desserts - very reasonably priced and good portions, good choice.

One suggestion, but this is my personal preference , perhaps an optional side of King prawns to add to the meal? Just an idea! Make money on add on sales!

And a big thank you for the free birthday drink, most appreciated! Really kind gesture!

Definitely recommend , see you soon and thank you!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JazzyMazzyMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner booked a table for the Friday night. We had a little wait for our table. Unfortunately with the restaurant being small my partner was knocked a few times by servers/customers going past. The food was nice. The staff were very friendly, made us feel very welcome. I could only give 4 stars as it's not a place I would visit again soon, only because I like a variety with my food, however I am glad we went to experience the place.

Thank thursdaytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Visited on a Thursday night around November time; it was surprisingly full for a Thursday evening. Came with my husband. No worrying about choice, aside from cooking of the steak. Simple food but cooked beautifully. Steak was perfect, chips were hot and the green salad was plain but a good accompaniment. The service was fantastic, and the owner made a point of going to each table to check everything was okay, and so we were able to have a chat with him about the concept. They even have a loyalty scheme! Can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley W, Owner at Steak Frites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. It's our pleasure to look after you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Bradley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Our first time here and we weren't disappointed! Great friendly welcome with some history behind the restaurant! Simple menu (steak and chips) but thats why we came.... Steak was as ordered with a selection of sauces for you to put on, oodles of chips and a lovely salad. Its the simple things in life........

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley W, Owner at Steak Frites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. It's our pleasure to look after you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Bradley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Small but lovely restaurant - really personal feel with the two managers going out of their way to make sure you are happy. The food is what really makes it though - delicious steak (medium rare for me), perfectly cooked chips and the most deliciously dressed salad. Finish it all off with some peppercorn/ bernaise sauce and you're left feeling very satisfied indeed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Trisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley W, Owner at Steak Frites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. It's our pleasure to look after you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Bradley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steak Frites also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to Steak Frites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing