We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”

Frank's at the Black Lion
Ranked #17 of 34 Restaurants in Aberaeron
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Sunday lunch at Frank's at the black lion, is a joy the food is piping hot and cooked perfect, I had the lamb this time it was fantastic and for a nice change we had leek's and broad beans , as well as carrots and cauliflower , roasts , mash, homemade Yorkshire pudds (huge) all fresh and all cooked to perfection, then the puddings come out again all homemade by Franks wife , Fantastic ! would recommend Frank,s to anyone who goes to Aberaeron .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scarletterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan B, Owner at Frank's at the Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you for your lovely review about our Sunday lunch. Very pleased that you enjoyed. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Thought we might give Frank's, (upstairs in the Black Lion), a visit as we have heard good reports from some of our local friends.
What a great meal! We had pate' and cawl for our starters. The pate was standard, and a decent sized portion, but the cawl was superb! Very very good. My wife had a locally sourced Welsh rib eye steak, which was cooked to absolute perfection, and came at less than half the price of the other upmarket, plastic steak and fish establishments in Aberaeron. I had the Steak and Ale pie, proper home made, with a real crust! Again, absolutely excellent.
Puddings, at least half were homemade, and the two we had were excellent.
What I don't understand TripAdvisor is why restrauntants with less reviews and only the same star rating are appearing higher up the rankings. Come on TripAdvisor, get your act together!!
So, if you enjoy good honest homemade food, decent sized portions, served freshly cooked and piping hot, then there is just no downside to this cosy little restaurant.

Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan B, Owner at Frank's at the Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you for your review. Glad you had a good meal. Hopefully see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

The staff may be moody that's why it's 4 star not 5. Bit there is a big screen TV and a small tv if your playing darts. There's a dart board and a pool table, so the kids are enjoying themselves and so are the adults.

Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan B, Owner at Frank's at the Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Sorry taken so long to respond. Think you were reviewing the pub downstairs not Franks restaurant upstairs. They are 2 separate businesses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Franks is upstairs in the Black Lion we had a good meal here plenty of it at a reasonable price my husband had the cawl which was lovely.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank casperboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan B, Owner at Frank's at the Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you. Always nice to have feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

We called into 'Franks' whilst we were staying in accommodation nearby, this place was recommended to us by the owners of the B & B we were staying at.

The eatery is nothing fancy, just simple home cooked food, with everything made from scratch, NO packets, NO microwaving just decent, plentiful, tasty, flavoursome home cooked fayre.

Lovely pleasant, well mannered staff, customer service is priority all round and after Frank had finished cooking he came into the dining room to ask if we had enjoyed our meal and to see if we were ok along with other diners.

Just make sure you are very hungry before going to eat as you will need a good appetite, give it a try, you don't know what you are missing!!!!

I just wish this place was nearer to home.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SIX3OFUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan B, Owner at Frank's at the Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Franks. It is really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your food in the restaurant. Thank you once again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frank's at the Black Lion also viewed

Aberaeron, Ceredigion
Aberaeron, Ceredigion
 
Aberaeron, Ceredigion
Aberaeron, Ceredigion
 
Aberaeron, Ceredigion
 

Been to Frank's at the Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing