We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely brilliant, we have been back 6 times”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Nant yr Onnen Barn

stunning views from every window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
stunning views from every window
two and a half acres of garden to explore verandah overlooking the Towy Valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
stunning views from every window
two and a half acres of garden to explore
verandah overlooking the Towy Valley
lots of space to relax in comfort
lush Indian colours and fabrics
family room with extra single bed
relax in the sunken bath
kids (and adults!) love the tree swing
well-appointed kitchen
valley weather - no two days the same!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Malai S
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant, we have been back 6 times”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Normally we like variety but the barn draws us back again and again, most beautiful views out of every of the many windows, its like living outside inside in great luxury. The interior design is stunning, beautiful and unusual things everywhere. It is cosy warm and spacious. The huge sunken bath is greatly appreciated by my son in particular. Best of all is the newly installed hot tub. Away from the city where the stars are still stars sitting not just in hot water but hot water that is heated by real wood is just amazing beyond words!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how easy and friendly the landlady was
Liked least: cant think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2014
Thank you - it's always such a pleasure to welcome you back. You were so lucky with the warm and sunny weather this time, and it was lovely that you could spend so much time outdoors in March.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice R
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect stay in every way!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My husband and I came with our 10 month old baby to stay with friends over New Year. It was our second stay (our first being during a summer a couple of years before) and it was just as relaxing, if not more so because of the fantastic addition of the wood fired hot tub!!! I couldn't have imagined a more perfect way to see in the new year... champagne in hand, sitting back in the hot tub and looking up at the beautiful night sky (with no light pollution around the stars were amazing). The barn itself is beautifully finished, very well equipped and the main living area is brilliantly spacious for a large group (with babies and children too!) Yet it still manages to be super cosy (even when almost freezing outside) with the help of the gorgeous wood-burner and large L-shaped sofa. In fact it was so cosy that we hardly left the barn the entire stay as we were able to enjoy the stunning scenery from the comfort of the sofa! Next time though we will get out to enjoy some of the fantastic local walks and try out the local pub which is said to be good. All in all another excellent break. As ever, Fiona and Tim were on hand whenever we had any questions but kept a polite distance. We look forward to our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2014
it was lovely to have you staying over the New Year and a delight to have you as the first guests to use the new outdoor hot tub. Glad the incessant rain didn't spoil your enjoyment!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brechtje8...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and fantastic living space to relax in with a group of people.”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Great service, all needed items were present in the barn from cooking utensils, towels, bedding and firewood. It was ideal to arrive with a group of people and be able to comfortably spend a great weekend in Wales.
The facilities were perfect for cooking, relaxing by the fire, and delightful scenery to go for a good long walk. The immediate surroundings provide a space to go for a short walk along the stream, play on the swing and try out the zip line...
Loved the communal space with a very efficient and cozy wood burner to add to the ambient atmosphere. Downstairs is somewhat less warm unless the underfloor heating is in use.
Overall highly recommend this holiday rental!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2014
It was great to see you again and meet your lovely friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amandalew...
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful seclusion with rustic luxury”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We would definitely recommend a stay in the Barn , all the comforts of home and more! The accommodation has been lovingly renovated and is beautifully decorated. The owners , Tim and Fiona , are very environmentally conscientious and have made the Barn fit the landscape perfectly. The surrounding countryside is as beautiful as any national park with plenty of walking opportunities. The local people are exceptionally friendly and we were made to feel at home in both the pubs we visited!
We are already planning our next visit and want to experience all the seasons there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2014
It was lovely to meet you. Thanks for the solar tips!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela...
England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect getaway in stunning setting”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Nant yr Onnen Barn. We stayed there with friends and it's a perfect place to spend some quality time with a group of people - family or friends. The barn is beautifully designed and extremely well equipped with many unique little touches. There were even wellies in different sizes to choose from. We particularly enjoyed the large and bright living space with fantastic views across the valley. There is a lovely outdoor patio where we spent most of our evenings with a little extra heat from the Chiminea. Fiona and Tim are so nice and were very helpful and full of valuable local tips. Personally I often have trouble sleeping in new places but at Nant yr Onnen we all slept like babies. The beds are super comfortable and it's so quiet. A real oasis away from the business of everyday life. We'll definitely come again!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2014
Thank you. We enjoyed your stimulating conversation and insightful observations. It's always nice to share our piece of paradise with kindred sprits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing