We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cliche, I know, but this is a hidden gem in an...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Nant yr Onnen Barn

stunning views from every window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
stunning views from every window
two and a half acres of garden to explore verandah overlooking the Towy Valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
stunning views from every window
two and a half acres of garden to explore
verandah overlooking the Towy Valley
lots of space to relax in comfort
lush Indian colours and fabrics
family room with extra single bed
relax in the sunken bath
kids (and adults!) love the tree swing
well-appointed kitchen
valley weather - no two days the same!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caledonia...
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, shame about the house”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We were looking forward to our holiday at the Barn as we’d stayed in the area before and had an excellent time. The owners’ website didn’t provide much info as to what was included in the price, so before I booked I checked several other listings to get a fuller picture. After doing that and reading reviews from previous guests describing it as ‘warm and cosy’, with ‘proper luxury’ and ‘all home comforts’ I went ahead thinking I’d done my homework and ticked all the boxes.

Unfortunately I didn’t realise that the underfloor heating was ‘optional’ - it wasn’t mentioned at all on the owners’ site and I’d seen it described elsewhere as included. When I emailed to enquire about it a few days before we were due to travel I was told the cost would be £36.00 per day. Ha, ha, a typo, I thought, but no, £252.00 was what I was being asked for. Or alternatively I could cancel and have a refund if I’d prefer that.

Cancelling at such a late stage wasn't an option so after some further negotiations I decided to carry on and make the best of things. Arriving to find a dehumidifier running in the main bedroom was a bad start, and over the course of the week we experienced major damp problems in that room along with a bad smell that couldn’t be got rid of because the window didn’t open. An alarming incident with the hot water system one afternoon, a lack of sound insulation throughout the property, creaky beds, uncomfortable mattresses and a duvet that sounded like it was stuffed with bubble wrap also made our stay memorable for all the wrong reasons.

On the plus side exploring the hillside immediately above Nant yr Onnen was a delight and we enjoyed our outings to the Dinas, Llyn Brianne and the Abergwesyn Pass. The accommodation was clean, the underfloor heating worked fairly well, and the open plan arrangement on the first floor was nicely presented and well equipped, though the kitchen didn’t really lend itself to serious cooking.

Overall I wouldn’t recommend the Barn as a place for families with young children - for instance, one entry in the guest book included a plea for a stair gate which doesn’t seem to have been heeded. The Barn’s internal layout struck us as unsuitable for people with restricted mobility as there are steps between the bedrooms and the downstairs bathroom, and more steps down into the wet room area. There are no handrails apart from the one on the main open-tread staircase and no grab rails beside the shower. Finally, anyone hoping for some serious peace and quiet might find the proximity of ‘glampers’ staying in the Cabin a drawback in that respect.

Previous guests have obviously had far better experiences than we did but the many remarks describing the house as warm and cosy suggest the additional charge for the underfloor heating may be a recent development. The property also came across as slightly tired and neglected compared with the pictures on the owners’ website so perhaps these are issues that could usefully be addressed.

I’m including five photos below - if they aren’t showing up it might be worth looking for them on the other TripAdvisor website.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2014
Sorry it has taken so long to respond to your review. It is always useful to get a broad spectrum of opinion, as a 300 year old barn is not suitable for everyone's needs. We hope that your positive memories of the area and the wonderful weather, along with the £497 refund, helped mitigate your disappointment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon J
Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cliche, I know, but this is a hidden gem in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in April 2012

My wife and I stayed in the cottage and the barn at Nant Yr Onnen in Summer 2011 and had a wonderful holiday. So wonderful in fact that we decided to take my parents again in April 2012. The accommodation is very comfortable in both, with the barn being larger and the cottage for couples offering more of a 'glamping' experience. Fiona is a great hostess, providing a welcome gift of locally produced apple juice on arrival.

The accommodation was clean and very comfortable, with a dishwasher and washing machine, cutlery and crockery, linen and towels offered in the barn and these basic essentials minus the dishwasher and washing machine (naturally) offered in the cabin. The views from both are beautiful, and the sounds of sheep in the adjoining field, birds and running water from a brook that runs through the property adds to the tranquility.

Nant Yr Onnen is situated in a beautiful, quiet valley close to the small village of Rhandirmwyn, which offers a small shop and tea room, and a couple of pubs. If you need more than basic supplies, the town of Llandovery is a short drive away, offering a larger supermarket and a great butcher where rumour has it, Prince Charles buys his meat when he is in this part of the world.

If you want to get out into the great outdoors, this is also a great base from which to explore this beautiful part of Wales. There are numerous public trails criss-crossing the countryside within walking distance of the property, and many nature reserves and castles are within easy reach by car. This part of Wales is also dense with public walking trails, and the Brecon Beacons National Park is not far. We even took a trip to Pendine beach, which is only about an hour from the property by car, so if you fancy a dip in the sea or a day at the beach, these are easily accessible as well.

We are definitely planning to stay on the property again, and it gets harder to leave with each visit. We cannot recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation and location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2014
Sorry it's taken so long to reply to your review! You are such delightful and generous guests - sharing your barbecues, anecdotes and insights with us - it always feels like meeting old friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing! Total paradise!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and I originally stumbled across 'The Cabin' on the Canopy and Stars website (google it!!) and stayed there for a week in early May 2013. We fell in love with the area - it is the most beautiful place we have ever visited. It is literally the closest you will ever get to paradise (without 30C heat!!!). Beautiful walks & scenery, great locals but most importantly - the best accommodation. The cabin is just beautiful! Unique, spacious yet cosy and surrounded by the most wonderful countryside you could wish for.

At the end of our stay, we met the owners - Fiona & Tim - who we instantly connected with. They are an extremely kind, down to earth, caring and thoughtful pair one could ever wish to meet! We asked instantly if we could come back....and thankfully -they could accommodate! But this time, in 'The Barn'. Now - the cabin is amazing....but this barn....well - it is something else!!!! Beautifully decorated, extremely spacious (yet cosy) it once again exceeded our expectations. On walking in, my first words were 'wow'!! It's fabulous wooden beams streak majestically across the ceiling enclosing the best open plan kitchen and living area I've ever had the pleasure of spending time in. Beneath is 3 large bedrooms, a large bathroom and a utility room. We absolutely loved it....and without use of is better phrase - were 'Living the dream' !!

Don't think twice about this place - if you want a beautiful, romantic retreat with your partner or fun getaway with friends or family - look no further. Go somewhere else.....because we want this place all to ourselves!!!! (Just joking - come here!!! It's brilliant! ;-) ).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2014
Sorry it's taken so long to respond to your review! We still have very fond memories of your two visits - especially your appreciation of our local singing talent at the pub and joining in my birthday barbecue! Now the worst of the winter weather is behind us we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal L
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location, lovely barn, lovely times!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Nant Yr Onnen Barn is a gorgeous place to stay.
Wether it's raining or sunny it has real charm. The location is fantastic for walks and the lake nearby is beautiful, although a bit chilly in December.
The barn itself is stunning and well kitted out and was very cosy with the large woodburner. We had a very comfortable stay and will definitely be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood stove kicked out some serious heat. Cosey!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoystonPo...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best New Year Ever!”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Arrived at the barn in the dark, was very impressed by the cleanliness, decor and how well appointed all of the rooms were, especially the kitchen. Enjoyed a cosy night with a roaring fire. The next morning in the daylight we were gobsmacked by the views from EVERY window! What a beautiful place to stay in every sense. Walks around the area are fabulous. We will definitely be revisiting Nant Yr Onnen, hopefully in every season! The owner's were at home (next door) while we were there and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The Royal Oak Pub 2 miles away is worth a visit too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing