We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Great location, great service, spectacular foyer, happy hour (free drinks), very close to Beale Street (Go there if your are into blues!), very nice staff. Booked it through sweetmagnoliatours.com as we were going to see Graceland and Sun Studios, and got a great deal - better than booking the hotel directly on hilton.com

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsMorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you so much for your recent post regarding your stay with us. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    567
    402
    185
    110
See reviews for
315
593
83
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bostonn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I recently stayed here, and i absolutely loved it. The location is great, its right across Autozone stadium or something like that , and walking distance to several restaurants .

Rooms: The room was good, it was the normal king size bed room, it was very clean and all

Staff: The staff was great, and very helpful

Parking: this hotel has parking or valet , i did the valet , and it was pretty good and fast service

Design: the interior of the hotel was fancy, the pictures on the website didnt do it justice

This hotel has a TGI Fridays in the lobby, the food is great there. Breakfast is also served there in the morning

This was a great stay at a great hotel!

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SaltShaker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you so much for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad that you were able to experience the different services we offer and that you loved your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The hotel is not totally unpleasant. The room was clean but smelled like stale cigarette smoke (room 721). I typically don't care about continental breakfast, but coffee wasn't even available in the morning. The hotel is in an incredibly loud area, two blocks from Beale Street. Music was blaring every night. The small shop in the lobby sold very few snacks and no items like toothpaste, contact lens solution, etc.

On the upside, the Peabody hotel and its restaurants are a few blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacelover1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We do provide coffee in the restaurant along with an a la carte menu as well as a breakfast buffet with an omelette station. We also provide basic items such as toothpaste, toothbrush etc. free of charge at the front desk. Thanks to your comments we are looking into adding more items in our Sundry shop that will benefit our guests including snacks and contact lens solution. Being in the heart of downtown within 2 blocks from Beale street the hotel can be loud at times due to the late night music. I apologize if the music prevented you from having a good night's sleep. I do hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in Memphis so that you can experience the changes as a result of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Memphis hotels

West Tennessee
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I'm not a world traveler by any means, but as you can tell from my profile I "get around" to my fair share of hotels here in the US. I don't think I've never EVER had a better stay anywhere than at this Double Tree in downtown Memphis.

The staff was superb. I can probably count 8 staff members that I came within a few feet of and every time they struck up a conversation with me, asked how my stay was and if they could do anything to make it even better. I'm not just talking the valet and front desk, but two or three cleaning ladies, a maintenance man, etcetera. The place was remarkable!

The room was very nice on the 8th floor (Hilton Honors floor) too. The tub was a little out of date but other than that I can't mark my overall score down due to that. It is an older building. The room was nice with plenty of amenitites.

And the location was right in the heart of the downtown district. Located across from AutoZone Park, around the corner from the Peabody and the Rendevous and only two blocks from Beale Street. You can't beat it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay. We are committed to providing excellent service and it's great to hear that the whole Team was committed to making your stay more enjoyable. We look forward inviting you back the next time you are in Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilonia, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We traveled here for our anniversary, and after I booked this hotel, I was kind of worried based on the reviews on here. Our room was EXCEPTIONAL. There was no kind of problem with cleanliness, and the bed and pillows were both very comfortable. They even upgraded our room when they found out it was our anniversary. The service here was exceptional. The valets remembered our names, and always asked if there was something they could do to help. Steered us toward the tourist spots that weren't rip offs, and some local gems that aren't on Beale. Great stay, will definately return for every Memphis trip.

Room Tip: Look for a corner room, they're very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for chosing to stay with us over your Anniversary. We wish you many more happy years to come! I am glad that our staff and hotel was able to provide you with a memorable experience. Thank you for being our guest at the Doubletree by Hilton Memphis Downtown and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown
#8 of 136 in Memphis
893 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price range (per night): $192 - $382
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing