We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
363
24
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
24
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscotti peabody hotel full kitchen grand piano beale street no elevator super soft towels place to stay civil rights museum the flying fish restaurant separate bedroom home away from home parking garage perfect location new orleans your luggage sun studios
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a wondeful place to stay in Memphis that is convenient to everything downtown. Right across the street from the Peabody so you can watch the duck walk, a couple blocks to Beale Street for nightlife and a short walk to the Mississippi River. We spent two nights here in mid March and had a great time. Tom and Sandy were wonderful hosts and we felt right at home. The rooms are unique and spacious, each one has a kitchenette with a full size fridge that is stocked with juice, water, milk and snacks on a daily basis. This is not a five star luxury hotel with lots of staff and amenities, but if you are looking for a great place to stay, with a charm and friendliness that is missing from most larger hotels this is the one for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluto098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Talbot Heirs during a roadtrip from Chicago to New Orleans in march 2012. This place has it at all !!! A funky little gem, hidden away and yet at crawling distance from Beale street, the Peabody Hotel , the Rocknsoulmuseum and so on...As soon as you arrive Tom and Sandy make you feel at home in their own relaxed way. Their hospitality was more than outstanding, their knowlegebility impressive. The daily refreshed snacks, juice and milk and the list of good restaurants and bars are just a small example of that. These people know what they are doing and they are doing from the heart !
As cliché as it might sound, the only regret we had was that we had to go !
A truly fantastic experience,
Ann (Belgium) and Mark (Ireland)

Room Tip: We stayed in suite nr 2 which I can only recommend but I have also seen a couple of the other rooms and they all have their own eclectic and funky individual style
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Our carriage driver referred to Talbot Heirs as the Hidden Hotel. You definitely will miss it if you are not looking for it. I am glad that we found it. My wife and I are from Memphis. On our 10-year anniversary we wanted to get away. We were going to take a trip (Hot Springs or Nashville). But decided that, having 3 kids, we wanted to stay close just in case they, or our parents, REALLY needed us. Also, we wanted to support the local economy.

We stumbled across Talbot Heirs during our hotel search and never looked back. Convenient to everything with spacious and eclectic rooms and very hospitable management, our stay at Talbot Heirs was incredible. Just something about it beat the average hotel experience. Also, the reasonable price really fit our budget.

You gotta check this place out for yourself!

Room Tip: Go to the website to find the room that fits your style- they are all different.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_R_R_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Talbot Heirs is a fantastic hotel located within a couple blocks of Beale Street. The accommodations are outstanding. We had a room with a full kitchen, living room, a master bedroom, and a roll-away bed. Everything is extremely clean and tidy. The kitchen is stocked with milk, OJ, granola bars, cookies, and coffee. There is a cleaning service everyday that replaces towels, dresses beds, cleans, and stocks up food/beverage items. The hotel manager and his wife could not be friendlier. They are both extremely knowledgeable of the area and also always accessible. There is a lock on the street level/main door so there aren't any strangers walking through. We paid $175 a night over the weekend which was standard for the area. I recommend flying fish for dinner which is right next door.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Talbot Heirs is hidden on a Memphis side street. Don't let the location fool you. It's within walking distance of everything in the downtown area.

The suite was outstanding -- comfortable, well appointed and felt almost like home. Tts a great place to stay at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: #3 has a nice outside lounge area.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews