We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”
Review of Central BBQ

Central BBQ
Ranked #4 of 38 Quick Bites in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Cooper Young Community Association
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Not the Texas BBQ we are use to but it was pretty good. We had brisket and ribs. The potato salad, mac and cheese were also good.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank CDR_ORION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 398 of 3,638 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

This place will not let you down. Great BBQ. Stopped coming through Memphis after vacation. Ribs are AWESOME.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Great smokey flavor, multiple types of sauces or a dry rub. Mac and cheese, onion rings, slaw, and peanut butter pie are the stuff dreams are made of. Seating and parking is tight and scarce, though.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kayakdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

I have to say first that the bbq at Central is really good. We ate the ribs and they are some of the best I've had. They are really fast when it comes to getting your food to you also. They do however have some of the rudest staff ever. They look as if they hate their jobs and they will speak to you as if you are trash. I had family from England with me who didn't understand what some of the items on the menu were and the cashier raised her voice and spoke to them like they were children. I have heard about the attitude that people in Memphis have, but when you go to a restaurant that is supposed to be famous and well known, you expect more.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Us4cityfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped for dinner on spring break. Walked away from Beale street to get more authentic local food. Ribs and brisket was off the charts. The whole meal was phenomenal. Must stop.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Central BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing