We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Inn is Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

It's really the staff that makes this boutique hotel shine. For years, the Peabody has held a lock on the THE hotel in Memphis but the River Inn has it's own vibe of luxury. The lobby is great, the rooms are great, the restaurants are great, the views of the Misssissippi are great, the neighborhood is fantastic ( great little grocery store down the block), but it's really the staff and management's attitude that really did it for me.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dannymangold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for River Inn of Harbor Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

807 - 811 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here in March 2012. The staff was great. Easy check in. The room was great. Had corner room with nice view of the River. Had 1 of 3 windows that opened. The people above us had children that were rather loud and one conversation with the front desk and they were able to keep them under control. The front desk was helpful with reservations and obtaining cabs. The breakfast each morning was wonderful (included in room rate). Free parking and wireless internet. Able to walk to downtown trolly (have to walk over bridge).

Room Tip: High corner room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkherold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at the River inn because it was rated #1 hotel in Memphis and I can see why. I never met a more friendly and helpful staff. Every staff member from the front desk to the cleaning crew greeted you and asked how your stay was going every time you saw them. The room was immaculate and perfectly decorated with quality fixtures. The water was hot the second you turned it on. But the absolute best thing about this hotel was Patrick! He was our server for breakfast at the hotel restaurant. He was the best. Even the second day when he wasn't wasn't working in our room he came over to bring us things he thought we might like, like a newspaper. He is thoughtful, friendly, and told us great stories about Graceland and Elvis because we were going there that day. And he was energetic and efficient. Patrick is a gem.

Room Tip: Probably no bad rooms. Loved ours.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellybelle_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This place was extremely hospitable. We drove 9 hours to visit Memphis and would do it again just to stay and eat here. Paulettes and Tugs had the best food we've had in years and we travel a lot. The staff at the restaurants could not have been friendlier! Can't say enough about our two days here.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Mississippi River is a must!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OHWVSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Great view of the river. Comfy bed and pillows. Luxurious terry cloth robes. Coffee on your floor starting at 6:00 each morning. Chocolate and port wine with turn down service. Nightlight in the bathroom -- I'm always forgetting to bring one. Our stay came with full breakfast each morning: my choices -- pancakes and bacon one morning, eggs Benedict the next; croissants so flaky they melt in your mouth. Menu is fairly extensive for breakfast. All of the staff were wonderful -- helpful and caring. Glass of wine upon arrival with live piano in the lobby in early evening. New amenities with old world charm. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lgr1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
2.1 km away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,256 reviews
1.8 km away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#7 of 138 in Memphis
1,983 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#2 of 138 in Memphis
393 reviews
2.5 km away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Memphis

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $335 - $688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel with European ambiance and Southern hospitality located I Harbor Town on a peninsula on the Mississippi River in downtown Memphis. 2 miles from Beal Street, FedEx Forum and Orpheum Theater, half mile from St. Jude Children Hospital. most room/suites are overlooking the Mississippi River, the hotel is offering 3 restaurants/bars, Paulette's (fine dining), Tug's Casual Grill and the Terrace offering small plates and hand crafted cocktails with having the best view in town of the Mississippi River, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing