We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveller rating
420
210
75
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
210
75
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenbeale streetbedroom suiterooftop areavalet parkingfew blocksmississippi riverwithin walking distancean older buildingmemphis downtowntrolley linecivil rights museummain streetwould stay here againbreakfast staffvalet servicefree breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 726 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016

A poorly maintained, ill conceived, rennovation of a historic building. Worn carpeting, needs paint, almost no public space. Tiny elevators, so don't be in a hurry. AC didn't work (87 degree days), almost no sound proofing, you'll heard your neighbors on all sides and above. Funky room layout. We've stayed in many Marriotts, this was the poorest of all, avoid this property if you can. Redeeming feature, the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TGC903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

We strive to provided outstanding guest service to all our guests and are very happy to hear the staff was friendly and delivered a great experience. I am however, very sorry you did not enjoy the that the A/C in your unit was not working correctly If you would like to discuss your stay, please contact me at 901-578-3700

Best Regards,
Tracey Hennnger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

The room was setup like a small studio apartment had a very homely and cozy feel to it. Would highly recommend it to everyone. Platform bed and bath, seperate living area and kitchenette. Lovely rooftop bar and view

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank n2deep0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

We are happy to hear you liked your guest suite and your visit to Memphis! You are always welcome back anytime!
Sincerely,
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Ideally located on the corner of Main and Monroe and only a few minutes walk to Beale Street.

We’d booked using our Marriott’s Rewards card and were pleasantly surprised to be given an upgrade to one of the hotel’s two penthouse suites on the 13th floor. It was enormous, with separate bedroom, full kitchen facilities and a big dining and living area. The bed was very comfy and the suite was well equipped.

There’s a rooftop terrace with great views over the city and the river. On several evenings a week, there’s a bar up there as well.

Breakfast was pretty much standard American hotel fare – eggs & stuff and a selection of cereals, breads, etc. Coffee is available all day there but, unfortunately, is not always kept hot.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent stay on our Trip Advisor Residence Inn site. We appreciate you feedback and will do better job of keeping the coffee refreshed in the afternoon so it stays hot all evening.

Our Rooftop Bar is open on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Memphis
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Nice sitting and work area.
The hotel location is perfect for downtown and Beale Street restaurants and entertainmnet. The "free" breakfast was not very good. Plan on eating one meal at Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken.......unbelievalbly good.

Room Tip: higher up, better view!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your hotel suite and our great location! I am sorry you did not like the breakfast choices on the buffet. I agree Gus's Chicken is a MUST! Many Thanks
Sincerely,
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I just left Memphis for a small weekend getaway. I decided to try this hotel because it wasn't one you usually hear or see when searching for places to stay. My wife is all about reviews and what other people think about where we're going to stay before we book a room, so I booked this hotel. As we arrived through the front door off of Monroe St. the welcome was more than expected! The most friendliest staff we have ever encountered, and might I add we've stayed at a lot of hotels. After getting checked in we headed to our room and just our trip to the 11th floor we knew it was different from anywhere else we've stayed. As we entered our room it was like we booked a small apartment. The amenities were more than generous! Full kitchen! Stove, dishwasher, and the dishes and silverware to accommodate any need. The bed was crazy comfortable, just what we had waited for after a long night in downtown Memphis. The breakfast is by far the best we've had also and is all complimentary! And last but not least the checkout time was 12:00! Just enough time to grab that breakfast in the morning and head back to the room to catch a quick nap before leaving out. And just a small add, the location was perfect. Walking distance to amazing restaurants and downtown attractions and you can walk out the front door and take the trolley anywhere you like!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

WOW What a great response to your recent stay! We are so happy you enjoyed the hotel and its location! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews