We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #32 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Skegness
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here with my wife 16 to 18 Feb 2012. Great location just round the corner from Beale Street.I couldnt fault the hotel. We didnt eat there but every bar in Beale Street serves food. If you want a great steak ask for the Butchers Shop. 2H ueys2 just opposite good for burgers etc. This area is all about music and drinking. Have a good time.

Room Tip: Always check aircon is working properly before you inpack and settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkegnessBiggerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We are so glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our location is the best and both Huey's and The Butcher Shop are two of the finest restaurants in the downtown area. Too bad you werent able to visit the Russwood Park Sports Bar and Grill inside the Holiday Inn; they serve great burgers too. I especially like your room tip: It is a great idea to check things out before you unpack as we are happy to move your room if it doesnt meet your expectations.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Memphis.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    411
    258
    104
    48
See reviews for
188
422
49
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

At first I thought the hotel would be so much more than it was. The lobby is sleek and the service helpful. The location was excellent; right next to Beale Street. But the rooms were a bit dirty with stains on the carpet and the bathroom had some mildew. The walls were paper thin and a bunch of kids were running up and down the halls; I had to call security twice to get them to shut up. The beds were comfy but in the morning I had to fight for the free breakfest that came with my package. The elevators were weird and creaky. Overall I wouldn't reccomend this hotel and I think it needs the renovation that the rest of the chain got.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingbadger17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your comments.

Im sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations. We do offer a great location and are glad you were able to enjoy that part of your stay.

Our property is a bit older than some, but we maintain a high level of cleanliness and overall guest satisfaction.

We do hope you will change your mind and recommend our hotel to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

First and foremost, the front desk staff was very kind and helpful. They got me checked in early, checked out late and arranged for airport transportation.

The location is great, within walking distance from just about everything downtown and only a block away from the trolley.

My room was fine with a nice view of the Peabody. The bathroom was pretty small, but all in all fine. I would definitely book a room there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We especially thank you for your comments regarding our front desk staff. They do work very hard to accommodate last minute/special needs like early check in, late check out and airport transportation. We will be sure to pass on your comments so they know how much they were appreciated.

Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
689 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of a group. The reception was good with welcome juices being provided on arrival. The staff were relatively helpful. However the hotel is comparatively basic and our room at least was in need of some renovation. Of more concern was the cleanliness, where we found an empty cigarette packet (non smoking room) and condom wrapper in one of the drawers. I complained to reception who advised that "housekeeping" would pay special attention to the points raised. On our return after the room had been "serviced", the same rubbish was still in the drawer and I took it directly to reception, who expressed concern. I do not normally use the "terrible" rating, but feel that it is justified on the cleaning aspect. The hotel advertised a gymnasium, which was in fact a small room with four machines. I had difficulty accessing the gym with my key and at least one other resident had the same experience. We did use the bar which served food and drinks. The service here was quite good. Finally the hotel is in a good location relative to Beale Street, the main area of attractions

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelexperience12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Memphis hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We checked in after good reviews on this hotel on tripadvisor. We have stayed in Holiday Inn in many cities, but this has to be one of the worst experiences. Sure the location is great, but that's where it ends. The hotel is old and run down, rooms small and even tacky to a point, the pillows smell, bathrooms very small with old weary fittings. For the $ 142 per night we paid, it was very disappointing. The street noise comes right through the windows, plus the walls are thin.

Room Tip: Stay far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkm111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis. We are so sorry to hear you felt we were the worst Holiday Inn you have experienced. Our hotel was renovated just a few years ago and inspected semi-annually to ensure we are meeting Holiday Inn Standards.

As with any downtown hotel, noise is a factor especially if you are a light sleeper. We try and make your stay comfortable but unfortunately cannot control the outside noise of a downtown city.

We do hope you will visit us again so we may attempt to better serve you.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 km away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Property: Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price range (per night): $199 - $349
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing