We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get some exercise! ”
Review of Big River Crossing

Big River Crossing
Ranked #31 of 120 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Opened October 22, 2016, Big River Crossing is the longest public pedestrian/bike bridge across the Mississippi River, providing dramatic views of its ever-changing landscape. By connecting Main Streets in Memphis and West Memphis, the BRX ties together urban, rural, and natural areas and gives users recreation options unique to each setting.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I are in town for some doctors appointments and he is supposed to be getting at least 30 minutes of exercise per day! This was a great way to get he exercise in with a great view over the river. We were confused as to where to park, as parking was very limited. After driving around several times we ended up backing in a spot along the street on channel 3 close to the Church on the River. Very clean and patrolled for safety.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Wmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"memphis skyline"
in 13 reviews
"state line"
in 8 reviews
"walk or bike"
in 5 reviews
"mighty mississippi"
in 6 reviews
"great walk"
in 4 reviews
"church parking lot"
in 2 reviews
"longest pedestrian"
in 2 reviews
"old bridge"
in 2 reviews
"colorful lights"
in 2 reviews
"riding bikes"
in 2 reviews
"porta potties"
in 2 reviews
"bring water"
in 2 reviews
"sunny day"
in 2 reviews
"cool experience"
in 3 reviews
"photo ops"
in 2 reviews
"bass"
in 2 reviews
"beale street"
in 2 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

My wife, teenage daughter, and I walked from the Tennessee side to the Arkansas side and back. It's a hike for sure. But it's an amazing way to see the river, take some great pictures, see the Memphis skyline, and more. The state line marker in the middle of the bridge is cool as well. Park at the entrance to the bridge if you can. The website says to park at Martyr Park, which does have nice parking. But there is no immediate access to the trail from Martyr Park. We made that mistake first, and reloaded into the car and moved up onto the street parking.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank jasonc128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Decided to walk to Arkansas across the bridge and what a great walk. We started at Sun Studio then walked full length of Beale Street then all the way down the river through the park to the bridge then across the walkway all the way to Arkansa, there are clean portaloos when you get the other side but could do with a cafe. We then took the same walk back to Beale street for a well earned beer. Don't leave without doing it as its a great experience and so quiet. Next time we will hire bikes and cycle it and then explore the other side to find a cafe/restaurant.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank E4408SEkevinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

This 1 mile pedestrian crossing over the Mississippi River is the best place for a little state line fun... you can run across the river into Arkansas then back into Tennessee in 10 minutes, waving at the security cameras along the way! I know because this is exactly what I did on a ‘feels like -25 degrees celcius’ windchill day. The bridge is pretty exposed to the elements so layer up when you do this crossing in winter...
Parking is best at Martyrs Park. Walk on foot to the end of the riverwalk path, then along a worn foot track across the church property. You will pop out on Virginia Ave W, where you will see portable toilets & the beginning of the big river crossing path.
Tip: for awesome sunset views of this bridge in its entirety, position yourself in Tom Lee Park (across from Riverside Dr)

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank 4_Aussies_inOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

It was a great bridge to get to see and walk across, very pretty sights at sunset! The bridge was very well made and seemed really safe and secure. There was no chance to drop phones in the river and there were emergency buttons everywhere as well as police stationed on the end. At no point did we feel uncomfortable

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big River Crossing also viewed

 

Been to Big River Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing