We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
262
80
24
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
80
24
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner cullen skink excellent food scallops dining room is restaurant with rooms small village post office stayed here for one night fresh seafood sea view kippers b bs ate here pudding warm welcome bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Never been to the West coast of Scotland before, WHY? it's stunning. The beaches are the same as the Caribbean, white, soft smooth sand. Stunning views across to Eigg, Rum and Skye and beautiful blue/green sea. We were lucky with the weather considering late September but I'm going again. The old library has some nice rooms at the rear of the building, nicely presented, my only problem is, at 6'2" I hate beds that have and end on them and I can't stretch out properly, the mattress wasn't the most comfortable, but the food and service were both excellent. Had dinner there as well as breakfast and was delicious.

Room tip: Get a bed with no ends on it.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner whilst camping in Arisaig and are glad we did. It’s a really small restaurant but it’s beautiful and cosy and the food was fantastic - huge portion of fish and chips! Just what was needed after a busy day. The staff were super friendly too! Thanks for a lovely meal.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kbenne14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We ate here whilst passing through on the recommendation of a friend. The evening special of roast beef was nothing short of excellent . Mature beef cooked perfectly with equally delicious veg. The desert was exquisite and very elegantly served.
Reasonably priced and friendly , a definite recommendation to all and a place to visit again for sure.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night before catching the Mallaig to Lochboisdale ferry. Room 5 above the restaurant- slight noise but did not stop me sleeping. View in the morning with the sun on the yachts is excellent. Breakfast tasty and overall good value.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 840brianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I may be wrong but my perception and experience of 'restaurant with rooms' usually promises delightfully diverse and tasty menus leaving you spoilt for choice and often with a hankering to return (e.g. Sutherland House Southwold, Barley Bree Muthil, Rock Salt Folkestone)
Arrived via Skye for 2 nights after fantastic stay in Lonbain on the Applecross Peninsula. Very friendly and helpful staff and re-assured that table for dinner reserved for guests of the lodge. The garden room was spacious, clean and comfortable with superb shower pressure and plenty of hot water.
Dinner at 7:30 and somewhat disappointed to find that all the specials had been wiped off the blackboard, astonishing given that the restaurant only opens at 6 p.m. for dinner. There was an enigma of a seafood platter but, a) it wasn't cheap, b) it contained smoked mackerel? probably the least exotic Scottish fish you could put on a platter, c) going by the noises off by a couple who weren't convinced they'd had a meal despite having a platter each, it paled by comparison to other less pricey and more representative of the fantastic diversity of Scottish seafood available up and down the western seaboard.
So with no choice but the limited menu my wife and I opted for a fantastic prawn cocktail (curiously not prawns but delicious langoustines) and mussels, nicely cooked in a delicious broth as starters.
Sad to say the mains were average, well 1 was and the other sticky-chicken thing was devoid of imagination and skill albeit strong on monotone flavour.
Breakfast was cheery and friendly but as an echo of the lack of 'restaurant' skills from the night before, the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs arrived with another enigma in the shape of a large wedge of lemon. No chives, or dill, or fennel even.. just scrambled eggs, salmon to the side and a chunk of lemon. Deconstructed?
We stayed another night, Arisaig has a lovely quiet charm all of it's own, and the roads lead to some wonderful scenery but, having spied that the specials on the board were non-existent, we decided to eat elsewhere...
Maybe the chef was on holiday? Maybe there was limited seafood available? Maybe...

Date of stay: August 2017
1  Thank JamesBisset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews